Deal alert / The Clash Sound System


Flash deal right now on Amazon Italy for The Clash‘s excellent Sound System box set.

The 12-disc set contains all the albums across eight CDs, three bonus CDs of demos, non-album singles, B-sides and rarities and a DVD with all the videos. It boasts very creative and lavish packaging is just £74 (or €86) at the time of writing (17.05 GMT 5/2/17) which is a fantastic price. This will go quickly, so if you don’t see that price then the deal is over!



Disc One

  • 1. White Riot (Single version)
  • 2. 1977 (B-side)
  • 3. Listen (Capital Radio EP) / Interviews (Capital Radio EP)
  • 4. Capital Radio (Capital Radio EP)
  • 5. London’s Burning (Live B-side Remote Control)
  • 6. Complete Control (Single version)
  • 7. City Of The Dead (B-side)
  • 8. Clash City Rockers (Original single version)
  • 9. Jail Guitar Doors (B-side)
  • 10. White Man In Hammersmith Palais (A-side)
  • 11. The Prisoner (B-side)
  • 12. 1-2 Crush On You (B-side Tommy Gun)
  • 13. Time Is Tight (Black Market Clash)
  • 14. Pressure Drop (B-side English Civil War)
  • 15. I Fought The Law (Cost Of Living EP)
  • 16. Groovy Times (Cost Of Living EP)
  • 17. Gates Of The West (Cost Of Living EP)
  • 18. Capital Radio (Cost Of Living EP)
  • 19. Armagideon Time
  • 20. Bankrobber (A-side)
  • 21. Rockers Galore On A UK Tour (B-side)

Disc Two

  • 1. Magnificent Dance (12”) 5:36 (available on Singles box set)
  • 2. Midnight To Stevens (Outtake)
  • 3. Radio One (B-side Hitsville UK)
  • 4. Stop The World (B-side The Call Up)
  • 5. The Cool Out (US 12” B-side of The Call Up)
  • 6. This Is Radio Clash (A-side)
  • 7. This Is Radio Clash (B-side 7” – different lyrics)
  • 8. First Night Back In London (B-side Know Your Rights)
  • 9. Rock The Casbah (Bob Clearmountain 12” mix) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 10. Long Time Jerk (B-side Rock The Casbah)
  • 11. The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too (Outtake) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 12. Idle In Kangaroo Court (Outtake listed as Kill Time) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 13. Ghetto Defendant (Extended version – unedited) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 14. Cool Confusion (B-side Should I Stay Or Should I Go 7”)
  • 15. Sean Flynn (Extended ‘Marcus Music’ version) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 16. Straight To Hell (Extended unedited version from Clash On Broadway) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Disc Three

Extracts from The Clash’s first ever recording session at Beaconsfield Film School 1976. Recorded by Julien Temple

  • 1. I’m So Bored With The USA
  • 2. London’s Burning – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 3. White Riot

Polydor Demos – The Clash’s second recording session November 1976 (Produced by Guy Stevens)

  • 5. Janie Jones
  • 6. Career Opportunities
  • 7. London’s Burning – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Live at The Lyceum, London 28th December 1978

  • 10. City Of The Dead
  • 11. Jail Guitar Doors – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 12. English Civil War
  • 14. Cheapstakes – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • 15. I Fought The Law

Bonus DVD

  • Julien Temple Archive – 6:20
  • White Riot Interview – 7:10
  • Promo and interviews with Tony Parsons
  • 1977 1:87
  • White Riot 1:48
  • London’s Burning 2:05

Sussex University 1977

  • I’m So Bored With The USA 2:14 – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • Career Opportunities 1:42 – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
  • Remote Control 2:73 – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Don Letts Super 8 Medley 11:40

  • White Riot 1:52
  • Janie Jones 1:73
  • City of the Dead 2:04
  • Clash City Rockers 2:15
  • White Man in Hammersmith Palais 2:53
  • 1977 1:41

Clash On Broadway – 19:50

  • London Calling
  • This Is Radio Clash
  • The Magnificent Seven
  • Guns Of Brixton
  • Safe European Home

Promo Videos

  • Tommy Gun 3:00
  • London Calling 3:20
  • Bankrobber 4:00
  • Clampdown (Live) 5:00
  • Train In Vain (Live) 2:10
  • The Call Up 3:10
  • Rock The Casbah 3:20
  • Should I Stay Or Should I Go (Live at Shea Stadium) 2:50
  • Career Opportunities (Live at Shea Stadium) 3:00

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dave S.

It’s great boxset, I got it from AmazonUK when it was released.
Anyways, are the lightning-deals or flash-deals always running on different Amazon’s?
Where can I see them, or should I just browse each store and look for such listings?

Dave S.

Ah, ok thanks I will more closely on the deals.


Like others have said it works out to $91 inc shipping from Amazon UK. They want $193 plus tax on the US site.

Bought! Thanks for the heads up as always.


If you purchase from the Amazon UK site and ship to the USA, you don’t pay VAT and the price comes down to 70 Pounds which converts to $91 on Amazon ($88 on Google so I’m getting screwed by the Amazon.co.uk exchange rate). Regardless, even the UK price is very good especially when you ship to the USA. Not sure if the VAT gets deleted for shipping elsewhere in Europe but definitely for shipping to USA, probably the entire Americas, Australia, Africa and Asia. And shipping is still only 3 Pounds. Not bad for such a big box. Thanks Paul :-)


Wow, I thought this was out of print. Ordered it!! Thanks Paul, let my journey into the Clash begin. Only know their hits so far. Can’t wait!!! This box has excellent reviews all over the internet.


Thanks Paul. Great price.
Got it from the UK site plus you get the Autorip MP3s as well.


It says this on AmazonUK about Autorip:
AutoRip is available only to customers with billing addresses in the United Kingdom who have a United Kingdom bank-issued credit card associated with their Amazon.co.uk account.
I guess no autorip for me as I’m in the USA.


thanks..just got it on the UK site even less shipped to the US


A quick review of this box set, purchased four years ago:

* Sound quality is excellent. Improved mastering with very little dynamic range compression. Most noticeable on the early albums and singles (1977-78).

* Disagree with putting London Calling on 2 CDs, and Sandinista! on 3 CDs. The original CD release formats were just fine.

* Liner notes are interesting, but not comprehensive. Lacking some of the details found in the Clash On Broadway box set (which was excellent for its time, 1991).

* Sound System Extras: Disc 1 is essential listening, Discs 2 and 3 are very hit-and-miss. It’s also not as complete as it could be – it is missing a few bonus tracks found on Clash On Broadway (One Emotion, Every Little Bit Hurts, the live version of Lightning Strikes). One minor quibble: English Civil War (live version) has the intro guitar mixed very low. Sounds strange until the whole band kicks in.

* Having said that: it’s The Clash! One of my favorite bands ever, and I don’t regret buying this box set for a second. Worth every penny, especially at the price quoted above.


The remastering is amazing. So many little details that stuck out to me for the first time.

I *really* wish they did not use multi-discs for Sandinista! and London Calling though.


Good offer BUT put me on ‘waiting list’ ? Never seen that before ?


Bugga – Didn’t know that ! :-(


Thank you for including the time of writing! That helps tremendously.