Aretha Franklin / Atlantic Records 1960s Collection / 6LP vinyl box

6LP vinyl box • LP of rarities • Limited to 5,000 • Great price in Italy

Rhino will next month issue Atlantic Records 1960s Collection, an Aretha Franklin vinyl box set that brings together her early Atlantic Records albums and adds a bonus LP of rarities.

The albums included are I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You (1967), Aretha Arrives (1967), Lady Soul (1968), Aretha Now (1968) and Soul ’69 (1969).

The bonus LP features 11 tracks from the 2007 compilation Rare & Unreleased including the demo of I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) and various outtakes.

This set is limited to 5,000 copies. It’s not available in the UK yet, but it’s worth jumping on the Amazon Italy price of €54 (at the time of writing) which is less than £50 and far cheaper than anywhere else.

Atlantic Records 1960s Collection will be released on 7 December 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order

Aretha Franklin

Atlantic Records 1960s Collection [VINYL]


I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You

Side 1
1. Respect
2. Drown In My Own Tears
3. I Never Loved A Man [The Way I Love You]
4. Soul Seranade
5. Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream
6. Baby, Baby, Baby

Side 2
1. Dr. Feelgood [Love Is Serious Business]
2. Good Times
3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
4. Save Me
5. A Change Is Gonna Come

Aretha Arrives

Side 1
1. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
2. You Are My Sunshine
3. Never Let Me Go
4. 96 Tears
5. Prove It
6. Night Life

Side 2
1. That’s Life
2. I Wonder
3. Ain’t Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)
4. Going Down Slow
5. Baby, I Love You

Lady Soul

Side 1
1. Chain Of Fools
2. Money Won’t Change You
3. People Get Ready
4. Niki Hoeky
5. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman

Side 2
1. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone
2. Good To Me As I Am To You
3. Come Back Baby
4. Groovin’
5. Ain’t No Way

Aretha Now

Side 1
1. Think
2. I Say A Little Prayer
3. See Saw
4. Night Time Is The Right Time
5. You Send Me

Side 2
1. You’re a Sweet Sweet Man
2. I Take What I Want
3. Hello Sunshine
4. A Change
5. I Can’t See Myself Leaving You

Soul ’69

Side 1
1. Ramblin’
2. Today I Sing The Blues
3. River’s Invitation
4. Pitiful
5. Crazy He Calls Me
6. Bring It On Home To Me

Side 2
1. Tracks Of My Tears
2. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody
3. Gentle On My Mind
4. So Long
5. I’ll Never Be Free
6. Elusive Butterfly

Bonus LP (11 tracks from Rare & Unreleased)

Side 1
1. I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) (Demo)
2. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is a Serious Business) (Demo)
3. It Was You (Aretha Arrives Outtake)
4. The Letter (Aretha Arrives Outtake)
5. So Soon (Aretha Arrives Outtake)

Side 2
1. Mr. Big (Aretha Now Outtake)
2. Talk To Me, Talk To Me (Soul ’69 Outtake)
3. The Fool on the Hill (This Girl’s in Love with You Outtake)
4. You’re Taking Up Another Man’s Place (Spirit in the Dark Outtake)
5. You Keep Me Hangin’ On” (This Girl’s in Love with You/ Spirit in the Dark Outtake)
6. I’m Trying To Overcome (This Girl’s in Love with You/ Spirit in the Dark Outtake)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I ordered this box set from Amazon.it a week ago and just received an e-mail from Amazon.it to say they have cancelled my order as they can’t get anyone to supply the box set to them.

Dear Customer,
Thank you for purchasing the “Atlantic Records Collection 1960s” article in the LP format in your order 407-4590242-5454706
We are sorry to inform you that we will proceed to the cancellation of your order because no supplier is able to provide the product.
Thanks for understanding.
With regard,
Customer care

So much for that. Pointless.

Pedro S.

You’re not alone in disappointment: I had the same news today.

Kenny Raeburn

Yesterday I received an email telling me that my order had been cancelled because no supplier could provide them with product.
I went back into amazon.it and found amazon had one copy in stock with more due today, but the price had increased.
I wrote an email to customer services (google translate assisted) outlining my displeasure and pointing out that there email bordered on blatant lies and given they had the item in stock with more pending, I expected to receive my order at the price I paid. I also told them that I would be escalating the issue to amazon as I thought the whole situation was dodgy, especially given that the order had been wiped from my account as if it had never taken place.
This morning I had a missed call on my phone from Dublin Amazon, and by ten this morning Onhad an email from amazon.it, apologising and telling me to reorder at the higher price and they would apply a refund to my account.
I would advise others with cancelled orders to write and complain. This worked for me with the ABBA box set a few years ago also, when they took the same action. Hope this helps some of you.


The price has gone down to £53.90 at Amazon UK.

Charlie Waffles

Are the albums in mono or stereo?


So Long from Soul 69. It is just stunning.

I was disappointed with the CD version of the later Spirit in the Dark, the vinyl by 4MWB is really nice though.

Would like to see the full Fillmore West shows make another appearance. The handmade edition has got quite pricey.

Paul Mortimer

Ohh well….a bargain from Amazon Italy, I’ve weakened and ordered it!

It’s Christmas, treat yourself while the offer lasts!

Ohh wait….that Xmas self-treat was supposed to be the Electric Ladyland box…or the Beatles, or Creation…or Mott The Hoople purchases that I’ve already made (snigger!)


Thank you amazon.it, ordered! However, what is this set supposed to be? Part 1? Best albums + the rarities lp? Just a random box of original LPs?
Are you aware of any plans for a proper reissue campaign or anthology? Will there be. Cd counterpart of this box?


it’s the 1960s albums on atlantic, that’s what it supposed to be and that is what it is (3 of the titles have already been released a few years ago by rhino and they sound excellent – it’s a shame aretha now and lady soul couldn’t have been mono, but it’s not entirely clear whether the “promo” mono versions of those albums were just fold-downs from stereo rather than having dedicated mono mixes, anyway – and they sound good in stereo so it’s not the end of the world).

probably will end up being a 1970s albums on atlantic too, i’d guess (or, rather, i’d hope)

the bonus lp goes into the 1970s – which is weird – maybe it would have been better to round up the singles and b-sides not on albums, but i suppose the recent singles collection does that, so maybe people would have moaned if it had crossed over.

you can get a box set of all nearly all the atlantic material on cd already from rhino (not remastered as such, although some of them may come from sources that were remastered – her stuff doesn’t really need remastering on cd anyway – all those cds sound pretty great as it stands).

Steve F

A great companion to the Otis set. Merry Christmas to me!