Bert Jansch / Living In The Shadows box


Earth Recordings will next month issue Living In The Shadows, a four-CD box set that brings together three Bert Jansch albums from the 1990s and along with a fourth disc of unheard and unreleased material from the same decade.

This set collects a trio of albums from the folk legend, namely: Ornament Tree (originally issued in 1990), When The Circus Comes To Town (1995) and Toy Balloon (1998). The unreleased material was transferred from Bert’s own collection of tapes – catalogued earlier this year – and the selection includes demos, alternate versions and some completely new tracks.

Living In The Shadows – 4CD set in book packaging

The four-CD edition comes packaged as a gorgeous-looking book-set with sleeve-notes by Bert’s biographer Colin Harper. A similarly presented 4LP vinyl box is also available.

Living In The Shadows will be issued on 27 January 2016.





CD or LP 1
1. The Ornament Tree
2. The Banks O’Sicily
3. The Rambling Boys of Pleasure
4. The Rocky Road to Dublin
5. Three Dreamers
6. The Mountain Streams
7. The Blackbirds of Mullamore
8. Ladyfair
9. The Road Tae Dundee
10. Tramps and Hawkers
11. The January Man
12. Dobbins Flowery Vale

CD or LP 2
1. Walk Quietly By
2. Open Road
3. Back Home
4. On One Around
5. Step Around
6. Step Back
7. When the Circus Comes to Town
8. Summer Heat
9. Just a Dream
10. Lady Doctor from Ashington
11. Steal the Night Away
12. Honey Don’t You Understand
13. Born With the Blues
14. Morning Brings Peace of Mind
15. Living in the Shadows

CD or LP 3
1. Carnival
2. She Moved Through the Fair
3. All I Got
4. Bett’s Dance
5. Toy Balloon
6. Waitin & Wonderin
7. Hey Doc
8. Sweet Talking Lady
9. Paper House
10. Born and Bred in Old Ireland
11. How It All Came Down
12. Just a Simple Soul

CD or LP 4
1. Morning Brings Sweet Peace of Mind
2. Back Home
3. Just a Dream
4. Untitled Instrumental
5. When the Circus Comes to Town
6. No-one Around
7. Lily of the West
8. Fool’s Mate
9. Paper Houses
10. Another Star
11. Little Max
12. Merry Priest
13. Untitled Instrumental 2 (Early Attempt With John Renbourn)
14. Untitled Instrumental 2 (With John Renbourn)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments