Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris / ‘Trio’ 3CD box set

unnamed (4)

Rhino will release The Complete Trio Collection, a three-CD box set featuring both ‘Trio’ albums from Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, and Emmylou Harris and a wealth of bonus material.

Trio (1987) and Trio II (1999) have been newly remastered and a further 20 tracks of rarities are included in the bonus CD, including alternate takes and 11 completely unreleased recordings, spanning both album sessions.

If all that’s too much to handle, on the same date, a single-CD set will also be available called My Dear Companion: Selections From The Trio Collection, featuring a mix of songs from the three-disc box.

And, if that isn’t enough in terms of purchasing options, Rhino are also issuing Farther Along, a two-LP set that features JUST the bonus material in the box (Trio II will also be released on vinyl for the first time).

The Complete Trio Collection and other editions will be issued on 9 September 2016.

Compare prices and pre-order

Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt & Emmylou Harris

Selections from the Trio Collection - single CD



Trio II (vinyl LP)


Disc One – Trio I
1. “The Pain of Loving You”
2. “Making Plans”
3. “To Know Him Is To Love Him”
4. “Hobo’s Meditation”
5. “Wildflowers”
6. “Telling Me Lies”
7. “My Dear Companion”
8. “Those Memories of You”
9. “I’ve Had Enough”
10. “Rosewood Casket”
11. “Farther Along”

Disc Two – Trio II

1. “Lover’s Return”
2. “High Sierra”
3. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind”
4. “After the Gold Rush”
5. “The Blue Train”
6. “I Feel the Blues Movin’ In”
7. “You’ll Never Be The Sun”
8. “He Rode All The Way To Texas”
9. “Feels Like Home”
10. “When We’re Gone, Long Gone”

Disc Three – Bonus Material (also issued on 2LP as ‘Farther Along’)

1. “Wildflowers” (Alternate Take unreleased 1986)
2. “Waltz Across Texas Tonight” (Unreleased 1994)
3. “Lover’s Return” (Alternate Mix – Unreleased)
4. “Softly and Tenderly” (Unreleased 1994)
5. “Pleasant As May” (Unreleased 1986)
6. “My Dear Companion” (Alternate Take 1986)
7. “My Blue Tears” (Unreleased 1998)
8. “Making Plans” (Alternate Take 1986)
9. “I’ve Had Enough” (Alternate Mix 1986)
10. “Grey Funnel Line” (Unreleased 1986)
11. “You Don’t Knock” (Unreleased 1986)
12. “Where Will The Words Come From” (Unreleased 1985)
13. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind” (Dolly Lead – Alternate Take 1994)
14. “Are You Tired of Me” (Unreleased 1986)
15. “Even Cowgirls Get The Blues”
16. “Mr. Sandman”
17. “Handful Of Dust” (Unreleased 1993)
18. “Calling My Children Home” (Unreleased Acapella Version 1986)
19. “White Snow” (Unreleased 1986)
20. “Farther Along” (Alternate Mix 1986)


1. “The Pain Of Loving You”
2. “My Dear Companion”
3. “To Know Him Is To Love Him”
4. “Telling Me Lies”
5. “Farther Along”
6. ” Lover’s Return”
7. “After The Gold Rush”
8. “The Blue Train”
9. “You’ll Never Be The Sun”
10. “When We’re Gone, Long Gone”
11. “Waltz Across Texas Tonight” (Unreleased 1994)
12. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind” (Dolly Lead – Alternate Take 1994)
13. “Wildflowers” (Alternate Take 1986)
14. “Calling My Children Home” (Unreleased Acapella Version 1986)


unnamed (4)

The Complete Trio Collection box

My Dear Companion: Selections from Trio Collection (3CD)

Farther Along (2LP)


Trio II (vinyl LP)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments