George Michael / Listen Without Prejudice Vol 1 / single CD remaster

Plus news on UK premiere of the Director’s Cut of the Freedom doc

A single CD remaster of George Michael‘s Listen Without Prejudice Vol 1 will be released next month.

When the 1990 album was reissued in October last year, it was available as a four-disc super deluxe, a two-CD deluxe (with MTV Unplugged) and on vinyl – there was no single CD option. This has now changed, and we will wait to see which of the three cover options Sony use –the ill-advised cropped version (used on the box set), sunglasses headshot (used on 2CD), or original cover. The image uploaded to the various retail vendors suggests the latter.

The one-disc version is certainly cheap, although it’s debatable whether – without any bonus material on offer – you ‘need’ the remaster, which to these ears didn’t sound dramatically different.

In related news, the new ‘Director’s Cut’ version of the George Michael: Freedom film (read the SDE review) will receive its UK premiere at the Edinburgh Film Festival. According to George’s friend and manager David Austin, this longer 113 minute cut was effectively the original version of the film that the the two of them were happy with, before they had to compromise and trim it to around 90 minutes for TV.

This single CD remaster of Listen Without Prejudice Vol 1. is released on June 2018.


Listen Without Prejudice single CD remaster

1. Praying for Time
2. Freedom! ’90
3. They Won’t Go When I Go
4. Something to Save
5. Cowboys and Angels
6. Waiting for That Day – George Michael / The Rolling Stones
7. Mothers Pride
8. Heal the Pain
9. Soul Free
10. Waiting (Reprise)

Listen Without Prejudice, Vol 1 – 3CD+DVD super deluxe

CD 1 Listen Without Prejudice remastered
1. Praying for Time
2. Freedom! ’90
3. They Won’t Go When I Go
4. Something to Save
5. Cowboys and Angels
6. Waiting for That Day – George Michael / The Rolling Stones
7. Mothers Pride
8. Heal the Pain
9. Soul Free
10. Waiting (Reprise)

CD 2 – MTV Unplugged
1. Freedom! ’90
2. Fastlove – George Michael / Patrice Rushen
3. I Can’t Make You Love Me
4. Father Figure
5. You Have Been Loved
6. Everything She Wants
7. The Strangest Thing
8. Older
9. Star People
10. Praying for Time
11. Fantasy featuring Nile Rodgers*

*download-only on the box set edition

CD3: B-Sides And Mixes
1. Soul Free (Special Radio Edit)
2. Freedom! ’90 (Back To Reality Mix)
3. Freedom! ’90 (Back To Reality Mix Edit)
4. Fantasy ’90
5. Freedom! ’90 (Edit)
6. Cowboys and Angels (Edit)
7. If You Were My Woman
8. Too Funky (Edit)
9. Crazyman Dance
10. Do You Really Want to Know
11. Happy
12. Too Funky (Extended)
13. Too Jazzy (Happy Mix)
14. Fantasy ’98
15. Heal the Pain – George Michael with Paul McCartney
16. Desafinado – George Michael with Astrud Gilberto

Disc: 4 – DVD
1. The South Bank Show 1990
2. Freedom! ’90
3. Praying for Time
4. Freedom! ’90 (MTV 10th anniversary)

SDE helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

better off buying the original which you will get next to nothing as it’s better sounding than this so called remaster.

Michel Banen

I bought the Japanese deluxe box and the bluspec2 CD’s sound breathtakingly good ! I would buy another copy of this album if released in a 5.1 blu ray audio mix but I think that format quietly died as I haven’t seen new stand alone blu ray audio discs being released, only as part of boxsets.


Wuuuhhuuu another version of this album. How about Older, Patience, Synphonica???? No vinyl? No boxset?


There was a vinyl and there was a box set! There were both released in October last year!

Yog’s Lovely

The re-releases are based on how old they are to celebrate the anniversary. I have all copies so far and have preordered this CD. I have a rather large GM collection. Peace and love to you all.

Kevin M

That’ll be a hard sell when you can get the superb-sounding original CD for £1 in your local charity shop.


While I was glad it wasn’t brickwalled, I felt like the LWP remaster was, if anything, abnormally quiet. Whenever I switch over to it in my car, I have to crank the volume up pretty far just to hear it at anything approximating other CDs. I haven’t had a chance to do a one-to-one comparison, but did anyone really notice much of a difference? From what i could tell, it wasn’t any clearer sounding than the original issue.


I agree… to me, no difference.

Roselyn Campisi

I am happy that they are gping to release this soon. I loved George’s older music. He was a very talented man. I am going to pre- order thanks


What is the point or demand for the remastered stand alone disc when the 2 disc edition is a couple quid more and still readily available and the original single disc edition available pre-owned for pennies and (imo) better sounding?


If you look very close, you’ll see someone very famous in the near left edge of the album cover. Answers on a postcard, please.


According to his manager David Austin, it will be released. There are also plans for an Older boxset, i think 2021 when it’s the 25th anniversary of that album.


I hope the documentary is released on Blu-ray or DVD. I love George and would love to own it.


It really shoud have been included on the SDE of LWP. A bizarre decision to omit it, as how many woukd purchase it as a standalone disc?

Yolanda Eichenberger

LWP 3CD+DVD super deluxe I already have, also got the original Older when I was in London the year it was released. I hope the documentary is released on Blu-ray or DVD. I would love to have it, where I live for sure it will not be shown.


Any news on whether the film will get a limited or one-off cinema release? I’d like to see it on the big screen. I’d certainly pay to see it at the cinema, but if I’m honest with myself, it’s probably not the kind of thing I would buy on DVD or Blu-ray…