Matthew Sweet / Tomorrow Forever

Matthew Sweet will release a new studio album, Tomorrow Forever, in June.

The 17-track long-player is a follow-up to 2011’s Modern Art, although he did issue Under The Covers Vol 3 with Susannah Hoffs in between.

You can preview the new single Trick on Spotify right now and the album can be pre-ordered on 2LP vinyl and CD. Tomorrow Forever is the first album recorded after Sweet moved back to Nebraska and features guests such as Rod Argent (piano on a couple of songs), the Bangles’ Debbie Peterson and Jayhawks’ frontman Gary Louris.

The album was originally funded by Kickstarter, where if you pledged $10,000 you could get Matthew to “produce/engineer/mix a song from his home studio with you” and “spend 2 days with him in the studio!”

You can even get a sneaky look at the packaging thanks to a couple of images posted on Sweet’s Facebook page (see above).

Matthew Sweet will tour in the USA this summer/autumn and Tomorrow Forever is released on 16 June 2017.

1 Trick
2 Entangled
3 Pretty Please
4 You Knew Me
5 Circle
6 Haunted
7 Country Girl
8 Off the Farm
9 Nobody Knows
10 The Searcher
11 Music for Love
12 Bittersweet
13 Come Correct
14 Finally
15 Carol
16 Hello
17 End Is Near

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Agree about the cover art. Very original and looks great. Wouldn’t mind having a full size print of this.

phil yates

Paul, do you know if the LP version comes on the multi-coloured vinyl if you buy it on Amazon? Or is the coloured vinyl only an option for the Kickstarter pre-orders? Thanks!

Jim C

As an example of fan-funded recording this has been a long and disappointing process. Instead of using the opportunity to really engage with fans we’ve been kept in the dark for a long time.

J Rogers

Oh, come on, he’s giving you 10 updates a day now, if that’s all you wanted. Never hold an artist to a schedule, let the muse take them when it will, the end product will be better for it. Patience, dude.


That’s Matthew Sweet on the cover?! This is his new look?! Is it just for this project?

Michael Benstead

I was rather hoping for some more sublime covers with the sensational Susie.


If this new Matthew Sweet release has the same clean sonic sound as the “Under the Covers” trilogy of albums he did with Susannah Hoffs, I’m definitely for it!


Bring on the superdeluxede ‘Altered Beast’ – what a great album!


In the first picture that is the cover…is that a boy or a girl?


It’s a girl!

Very interesting character is Mathew Sweet, the King Of Power Pop! I’m in for this and this is a reminder that I must fill in the gaps I have in MS’s back catalog.


Excellent! Long time Sweet fan here, always interested in his new music. Will pick this up for sure. I do wish that he was as effective at marketing himself as a now-independent artist as Aimee Mann is, but maybe he’ll do better with that now. For example, when his Living Things album came out back in ’04, his website wasn’t even updated to list it! Fortunately his new site appears to be on the ball.


What beautiful sleeve art… those paintings are gorgeous!

Stevie B

Agreed. Puts recent covers from the Stones (Mono Box), and Kasabian amongst others to shame.


Too many artists I like are too busy! I can’t keep up! :)