Moby / Play: The B-sides / vinyl

The B-sides of Moby‘s 1999 album Play are collected on vinyl for the first time via Play: The B-sides.

Play: The B-sides was originally back in 2000, but only ever on CD and cassette. I’m reasonably sure that this is a double vinyl set (a red vinyl version is sold out) so the 11-tracks are now pressed across four sides of black vinyl, for this new release.

At the time Moby described the album thus: “The B-Sides is a collection of songs that weren’t quite appropriate for Play, but that I still love enough to release as B-sides. Some of these songs might not be instantly accessible, but I (immodestly) think they are all quite special.”

Play: The B-sides is issued on vinyl on 9 February 2018.

Side A
1 Flower
2 Sunday
3 Memory Gospel

Side B
1 Whispering Wind
2 Summer
3 Spirit

Side C
1 Flying Foxes
2 Sunspot
3 Flying Over The Dateline

Side D
1 Running
2 The Sun Never Stops Setting

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



I was just about to say the same. If they’re bothering to reissue, it would have been nice to include the b-sides left off the first time as bonus tracks. Not like those are going to wind up anywhere else any time soon…

Derek Langsford

And they could have put those additional b-sides on a companion CD release. The original had over 19 mins spare on the disc. Could have sold even more with such a release. Nothing for me here as I already have the album+ b-sides CD set.


Too bad not all of the B-sides are there on this 2xLP set. There is definetaly enough space for
Micronesia (B-side of Honey), Arp (B-side of Bodyrock), Princess (B-side of Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?), Sick In The System (B-side of Natural Blues).