Nick Cave & Warren Ellis / Proposition soundtrack to be issued on vinyl

First time on vinyl • Gold coloured gatefold vinyl LP

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis’ soundtrack for 2005 film The Proposition will receive a first vinyl release in November.

The film was written by Cave and directed by John Hillcoat. Since working on this project Cave and Ellis have created soundtracks to a number of other films including The Assassination of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford, Lawless, Hell Or High Water, and Kings.

The soundtrack is being pressed on special gold coloured vinyl and comes in a gatefold sleeve. After the first pressing these will revert to black vinyl.

The soundtrack to The Proposition is released on 2 November 2018 via Mute / BMG.

Side 1

  1. Happy Land (2018 – Remaster)

  2. The Proposition #1 (2018 – Remaster)

  3. Road to Banyon (2018 – Remaster)

  4. Down to the Valley (2018 – Remaster)

  5. Moan Thing (2018 – Remaster)

  6. The Rider #1 (2018 – Remaster)

  7. Martha’s Dream (2018 – Remaster)

  8. Gun Thing (2018 – Remaster)

Side 2

  1. Queenie’s Suite (2018 – Remaster)

  2. The Rider #2 (2018 – Remaster)

  3. The Proposition #2 (2018 – Remaster)

  4. Sad Violin Thing (2018 – Remaster)

  5. The Rider #3 (2018 – Remaster)

  6. The Proposition #3 (2018 – Remaster)

  7. The Rider Song (2018 – Remaster)

  8. Clean Hands, Dirty Hands (2018 – Remaster)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Nick Cave and Warren Ellis‘ soundtrack to Andrew Dominik’s 2007 film The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford will be issued on vinyl for the first time next month. This was Cave and Ellis’ second collaboration following their soundtrack to The Proposition, which was issued on vinyl back in November last year. […]

Paul Wren

OK – just bought via Amazon UK for £18 and free delivery via my Prime account with them. So £2 cheaper before postage costs than buying direct from NC’s website.

Mark F

I’m also glad to read that there will be a black pressing after the gold one runs out, thanks for the info. I much prefer black wax to anything else, although previous gold records (The Charlatans, Chinatown score) I’ve had no problems with.

Mark F

It’s very good, Chris, but the one I’m waiting on is The Road. Cave & Ellis haven’t topped that yet, although all of their scores are must listens, if not must buys.

Chris Squires

I haven’t heard this one but if it is anywhere near as good as The Assassination of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford it’ll be a corker.