Primal Scream set to release a new singles compilation

Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll features 31 of the band’s hits

Primal Scream are to release new singles collection called Maximum Rock & Roll.

The set features most of the band’s singles from across their career, and will be available as a two-CD set and across two double vinyl sets.

It’s the first compilation from the band since 2003’s Dirty Hits, and features 31 of the band’s singles from across their career and 11 albums, although they seem to have forgotten debut ‘All Fall Down’ and opted to start the collection off with ‘Crystal Crescent’’s seminal B-Side ‘Velocity Girl’ instead (and while we’re nitpicking, there’s no sign of Kevin Shields’ mix of ‘If They Move Kill ‘Em’ either.)

Bobby looking a fresh faced on the cover of ‘volume two’ of the vinyl edition

With no previously unreleased or even new content featured – apparently new songs were mooted but didn’t pass muster – it’s very much a celebration of the band’s career so far. Hopefully this is biding time for a 20th anniversary repackage of 2000’s XTRMNTR next year.

Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles is released 24 May 2019

Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles (Double CD)

Disc One:

  1. Velocity Girl
  2. Gentle Tuesday
  3. Imperial
  4. Ivy Ivy Ivy
  5. Loaded
  6. Come Together
  7. Higher Than the Sun (The Orb Mix)
  8. Don’t Fight It, Feel It (7″ Edit)
  9. Movin’ on Up
  10. Rocks
  11. Jailbird
  12. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
  13. Kowalski
  14. Star
  15. Burning Wheel
  16. Swastika Eyes
  17. Kill All Hippies (Brendan Lynch Edit)

Disc Two

  1. Accelerator
  2. Miss Lucifer
  3. Autobahn 66
  4. Some Velvet Morning – Primal Scream feat. Kate Moss
  5. Country Girl
  6. Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)
  7. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely
  8. Can’t Go Back
  9. Uptown (Weatherall mix)
  10. 2013
  11. It’s Alright, It’s OK
  12. Goodbye Johnny
  13. Where the Light Gets In – Primal Scream feat. Sky Ferreira
  14. 100% or Nothing

Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles Vol 1. (Double vinyl)

Side A

  1. Velocity Girl
  2. Gentle Tuesday
  3. Imperial
  4. Ivy Ivy Ivy
  5. Loaded

Side B

  1. Come Together
  2. Higher Than the Sun
  3. Don’t Fight It, Feel It
  4. Movin’ On Up

Side C

  1. Rocks
  2. Jailbird
  3. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
  4. Kowalski

Side D

  1. Star
  2. Burning Wheel
  3. Swastika Eyes (Brendan Lynch Edit)
  4. Kill All Hippies

Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles Vol 2. (Double vinyl)

Side A

  1. Accelerator
  2. Miss Lucifer
  3. Autobahn 66
  4. Some Velvet Morning (with Kate Moss)

Side B

  1. Country Girl
  2. Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)
  3. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely

Side C

  1. Can’t Go Back
  2. Uptown (Weatherall mix)
  3. 2013
  4. It’s Alright, It’s OK

Side D

  1. Goodbye Johnny
  2. Where The Lights Get In (with Sky Ferreira)
  3. 100% Or Nothing

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

There are a few misprinting issues/inaccuracies. “Higher Than the Sun” is track #7 and comes before “Don’t Fight It, Feel It” (8), not soon after as written on the cover. This release, anyway, includes actual single mixes, some are different on Dirty Hits (especially tracks from “Screamadelica”).


I noticed your wish for an XTRMNTR 20th anniversary deluxe. thing is, the japanese double issues for that and many others were well worth it. Unless of course there’s a bunch of extra unreleased crapola.


any info that suggests this is going to be released in the US? been watching since you announced the release and it’s still not showing up anywhere over here


Love the cover of double vinyl Vol.2 but only want those songs from double vinyl Vol2.

Peter liveesy

Bobby has made some very interesting coments in this month’s q magazine. How desperate is he for this to get publicity

Stevie B

Nothing from the superb ‘Don’t give up but give out’? Surely a couple of tracks from that would justify this hits compilation and bring it bang up to date? Maybe they could add them on as ‘hidden tracks’ as well as the debut single? Here’s hoping :)

Ordered both vinyl albums and the double CD plus a print (all signed except the print!) from the bands website. P&P a bit steep but nice to have this collection on vinyl.

Michael C

Rocks, Jailbird and (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind from “Give Out But Don’t Give Up” are on Disc 1.

Dr Volume

Hilarious title, and looking at the cover art Volume 2 ought to be subtitled “Hey, Hey We’re The Junkees”


Love the Scream! But I won’t be buying this. However, it’s good to see that the 4LP vinyl package has been split into two, thus giving choice. The first set is good overall but the second is a bit thin on the ground both in quality and quantity – what’s with only three tracks a side?!

A 3LP set would have been better.

Jason Brown

To be fair, a pretty good and comprehensive overview. And doesn’t ignore any eras. either.
On what label, I wonder? Sony? Or have they got rights to all their material now?

Re the ‘missing tracks’…what are the odds of a 3CD + DVD version appearing (other tracks & all the bands videos?)

PS: many thanks Paul for getting my Six reissue out so promptly. Great service, much appreciated.


Love this band and a compilation is overdue but they do have one of the most erratic catalogs in rock music. How they can go from the raw edge of tracks from XTRMNTR to the Stones-y Give Out But Don’t Give Up time and time again over the course of their career really does show their versatility, but this can make for a rather disjointed listen. Maybe this is why some albums just seem to resonate with fans much more than others. I can’t think of too many other bands who have pushed their variety factor so much…The Beatles, obviously. The Horrors? Goldfrapp? It’s brave because you never know what you’re really going to get, but you know you’ll always get a certain level of quality because of what they are and what they bring to the table. Putting this on my Christmas list now. With Record Store Day around the corner, two greatest hits sets seem like they might have to wait…


Pretty good chance to own a compendium of Scream’s stuff. Used to have ‘Dirty Hits’ and the japanese exclusive ‘More Dirty Hits’, but sold ’em both a while ago and currently only have the ‘Screamadelica’ four-disk reissue. Gonna grab the 2CD set for sure.


At least they are acknowledging the first two albums exist here for a change, usually they just pretend that it all started with Screamadelica.
Both those two early albums are great and could really do with decent reissues, damn sight better than any of their recent ones.


I get the idea and the spirit of Scream the band, but really, they’re a lot more interesting and innovative than “rock n roll” suggests. that’s just luddite talking. crap cover too, some amazing tracks within though.


What song video is the picture on the cover of Vinyl Vol. 2 from?


Looks like Come Together. Bit cheeky given that the song is one Vol 1 but hey…


Nice to see ‘Star’ on there after it was left off ‘Dirty Hits’ for some reason.

Would’ve liked ‘I’m losing more than I’ll ever have’ included, but not sure if that fits the remit of actually being a single.


Star, notoriously, referred to Rosa Parks as if she were dead when she was still alive and She was still alive when Dirty Hits was released. I guess now she’s no longer with us it’s safe to let the song back into the wild.

Michael C

Ordered mine last week.
Signed copies are available from the bands website.