Ray Davies / new album Americana

Ray Davies returns in April with Americana, his first solo album in 10 years.

The 15-track long-player shares the name of his 2013 autobiography and when the Kinks frontman spoke to Billboard back in early 2015, he told them he’d penned “100 some songs with that I need to start recording” for the this very album.

Americana is co-produced with Guy Massey and John Jackson and like the book, is very much an autobiographical work. Indeed it includes a number of short spoken-word passages from Davies’ memoir. Americana also features a duet with The Jayhawks’ Karen Grotberg.

Americana will be issued on CD and 2LP vinyl on 21 April 2017.


CD Edition

1. Americana
2. The Deal
3. Poetry
4. Message from the Road
5. A Place in Your Heart
6. The Mystery Room
7. Silent Movie
8. Rock ‘N’ Roll Cowboys
9. Change for Change
10. The Man Upstairs
11. I’ve Heard That Beat Before
12. A Long Drive Home to Tarzana
13. The Great Highway
14. The Invaders
15. Wings of Fantasy

Vinyl 2LP

Disc: 1
1. Americana
2. The Deal
3. Poetry

Disc: 2
1. Message from the Road
2. A Place in Your Heart
3. The Mystery Room
4. Silent Movie
5. Rock ‘N’ Roll Cowboys

Disc: 3
1. Change for Change
2. The Man Upstairs
3. I’ve Heard That Beat Before
4. A Long Drive Home to Tarzana

Disc: 4
1. The Great Highway
2. The Invaders
3. Wings of Fantasy

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments