Soundgarden / Live from the Artists Den

Seven-disc super deluxe • 4LP vinyl • 2CD

Soundgarden are to release their ‘legendary’ Artists Den show this July. The Live from the Artists Den was taped in February 2013, just after the band had finished their King Animal tour, which turned out to be their band’s final studio release.

Shot at the Wiltern in Los Angeles, the show features 29 songs across two-and-a-half-hours, and showcasing tracks from each phase of the band’s career from their debut single ‘Hunted Down’ through high points such as Badmotorfinger and the commercial breakthrough of Superunknown and understandably a fair whack from King Animal too.

The accompanying concert film featured 21 songs never released live on screen before, 17 of which have never been released on record, including ‘Blind Dogs’ which is the first-time the band ever performed the song live.

Now about to be issued on a variety of formats, as Soundgarden: Live from the Artists Den, the limited-edition super deluxe edition box will feature the complete 29-song concert film in 5.1 surround sound and stereo on Blu-ray, along with more than 30 minutes of bonus interviews with the band. The same set will also feature four 180-gram audiophile black LPs, 2CDs, a 40-page photo book, four band member lithographs, replica artist all-access pass and a replica ticket stub.

The 4LP black vinyl will be available separately and 5.1 fans who don’t want the big box will be pleased to hear that the blu-ray is also available on its own. There’s also a two-CD set.

Make the most of these sort of band releases though, since Chris Cornell died in 2017, the rest of the band respectfully decided to knock it on the head rather than get a new vocalist involved. Although Live at the Artists Den follows last November’s Chris Cornell compilation, which was classily stickered as ‘his first collection’ so it looks like this won’t be the last of the posthumous releases.

Soundgarden: Live from the Artists Den is released 26 July 2019.

LP1 – Side A

  1. Incessant Mace
  2. My Wave
  3. Been Away Too Long

LP1 – Side B

  1. Worse Dreams
  2. Jesus Christ Pose
  3. Flower
  4. Taree

LP2 – Side A

  1. Spoonman
  2. By Crooked Steps
  3. Blind Dogs
  4. Rowing

LP2 – Side B

  1. Non-State Actor
  2. Drawing Flies
  3. Hunted Down
  4. Black Saturday
  5. Bones of Birds

LP3 – Side A

  1. Blow Up The Outside World
  2. Fell On Black Days
  3. Burden In My Hand

LP3 – Side B

  1. A Thousand Days Before
  2. Blood On The Valley Floor
  3. Rusty Cage
  4. New Damage

LP4 – Side A

  1. 4th Of July
  2. Outshined
  3. Black Hole Sun

LP4 – Side B

  1. Ty Cobb
  2. Slaves & Bulldozers
  3. FeedBacchanal


Disc 1

  1. Incessant Mace
  2. My Wave
  3. Been Away Too Long
  4. Worse Dreams
  5. Jesus Christ Pose
  6. Flower
  7. Taree
  8. Spoonman
  9. By Crooked Steps
  10. Blind Dogs
  11. Rowing
  12. Non-State Actor
  13. Drawing Flies
  14. Hunted Down
  15. Black Saturday
  16. Bones of Birds
  17. Blow Up The Outside World

Disc 2

  1. Fell On Black Days
  2. Burden In My Hand
  3. A Thousand Days Before
  4. Blood On The Valley Floor
  5. Rusty Cage
  6. New Damage
  7. 4th Of July
  8. Outshined
  9. Black Hole Sun
  10. Ty Cobb
  11. Slaves & Bulldozers
  12. FeedBacchanal


Disc 1

  1. Incessant Mace
  2. My Wave
  3. Been Away Too Long
  4. Worse Dreams
  5. Jesus Christ Pose
  6. Flower
  7. Taree
  8. Spoonman
  9. By Crooked Steps
  10. Blind Dogs
  11. Rowing
  12. Non-State Actor
  13. Drawing Flies
  14. Hunted Down
  15. Black Saturday
  16. Bones of Birds
  17. Blow Up The Outside World
  18. Fell On Black Days
  19. Burden In My Hand
  20. A Thousand Days Before
  21. Blood On The Valley Floor
  22. Rusty Cage
  23. New Damage
  24. 4th Of July
  25. Outshined
  26. Black Hole Sun
  27. Ty Cobb
  28. Slaves & Bulldozers
  29. FeedBacchanal
  30. BONUS INTERVIEW – Chris Cornell
  31. BONUS INTERVIEW – Kim Thayil
  32. BONUS INTERVIEW – Matt Cameron
  33. BONUS INTERVIEW – Ben Shepherd

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alan Lee

Have ordered the coloured 4LP vinyl. Hard to justify the outlay for the super deluxe box when you realise that you can buy the individual releases (4LP, 2CD, Blu-Ray) for about £91, while the super deluxe costs you about £40 more for just the ‘book’ and miscellaneous stuff.

It’s understandable though why there’s no dvd, as this show was recorded in HD and looks amazing. The full show on BR will look fantastic.


They did not play Loud Love???? That’s the only song I know by them. Wasn’t that one of their biggest hits? Love that song, but then Grunge exploded and I just couldn’t get into all the grunge stuff…

Dave Ling

‘Loud Love’ wasn’t even one of their biggest hits by a long way – they had nearly a dozen other songs that charted way higher than this single!

Charlie Waffles

UMe, I wish you would release the 2 cd set as a deluxe edition without the vinyl. I would purchase it in a heartbeat!

Long live Chris Cornell!

UMe, I wish you would also re-release the rarities super deluxe edition from 2014 on cd again. I did not get to purchase the item and now it is obsolete. The title is Echo of Miles.

Mark R

Looking forward to this. I’ve gone for the Super Deluxe Box Set. I hope one day they dig out something from the 1994-95 Superunknown Tour. Chris’ vocals were at their absolute peak in terms of power.

Stephen Tomlinson

Colour vinyl version also available in the U.K. at sound of vinyl website


I knew I’d seen it somewhere. Again hideous price though for something that probably would never have normally been released..

Colin Harper

I wonder are the gatekeepers of accuracy at the Oxford English Dictionary right now lowering the threshold in their definition of ‘legendary’?


My thought as well.

Stephen Tomlinson

4 LP multicolour vinyl version also available at musicvaultz in Canada https://shop.musicvaultz.com/*/*/Live-At-The-Artist-s-Den-4LP/65IK0000000

James Duncan

I didn’t know about this online retailer, thank you! Order has been placed!



graeme ewan

well done on you Soundgarden for doing the Blu- Ray as a seperate entity. Right, now time to get Badmotorfinger on whilst I make my evening meal!! (Mrs may not be so impressed as she comes in however)!