Steve Hackett / The Charisma Years 1975-1983 vinyl box set

Steve Hackett / The Charisma Years 1975-1983 vinyl box set

Universal Music will next month release The Charisma Years 1975-1983 a ten-LP vinyl box set compiling the work of Steve Hackett.

Steve was the first member of Genesis to release a solo album (Voyage of the Acolyte in 1975) before leaving the band in 1977. This new box collects his six Charisma studio albums with Please Don’t Touch and Spectral Mornings utilising the recent Steven Wilson stereo remixes (via the original multi-track tapes). The remaining albums have been newly remastered from the original master tapes.

As well as this studio work, The Charisma Years 1975-1983 contains Live at The New Theatre, Oxford 1979, a newly mixed concert recorded on the Spectral Mornings tour and Live at Reading 1981 an LP of Steve’s appearance at the Reading Festival in August, 1981. Finally, a 12-inch live EP is included called I Know What I Like. This features Steve’s band performing the Genesis’ I Know What I Like (in Your Wardrobe) recorded in 1979 at Oxford New Theatre plus several tracks recorded live at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane in November 1979.

SDE makes that 10 pieces of vinyl in the box. All LPs are facsimile editions of the original releases and are pressed on 180g vinyl. The Charisma Years 1975-1983 is released on 27 May 2016.





Voyage Of The Acolyte

  1. Ace Of Wands
  2. Hands Of The Priestess – Pt. I
  3. A Tower Struck Down
  4. Hands Of The Priestess – Pt. II
  5. The Hermit
  6. Star Of Sirius
  7. The Lovers
  8. Shadow Of The Hierophant


Please Don’t Touch

  1. Narnia
  2. Carry On Up The Vicarage
  3. Racing In A
  4. Kim
  5. How Can I?
  6. Hoping Love Will Last
  7. Land Of A Thousand Autumns
  8. Please Don’t Touch
  9. The Voice Of Necam
  10. Icarus Ascending


Spectral Mornings

  1. Every Day
  2. The Virgin And The Gypsy
  3. The Red Flower Of
  4. Tachai Blooms Everywhere
  5. Clocks – The Angel Of Mons
  6. The Ballad Of
  7. The Decomposing Man
  8. Lost Time In Cordoba
  9. Tigermoth
  10. Spectral Mornings



  1. The Steppes
  2. Time To Get Out
  3. Slogans
  4. Leaving
  5. Two Vamps As Guests
  6. Jacuzzi
  7. Hammer In The Sand
  8. The Toast
  9. The Show
  10. Sentimental Institution



  1. Hope I Don’t Wake
  2. Picture Postcard
  3. Can’t Let Go
  4. The Air Conditioned Nightmare
  5. Funny Feeling
  6. A Cradle Of Swans
  7. Overnight Sleeper
  8. Turn Back Time


Highly Strung

  1. Camino Royale
  2. Cell 151
  3. Always Somewhere Else
  4. Walking Through Walls
  5. Give It Away
  6. Weightless
  7. Group Therapy
  8. India Rubber Man
  9. Hackett To Piece

LP7 (2LP set)

Live At Oxford (1979)

  1. Please Don’t Touch
  2. Tigermoth
  3. Every Day
  4. Narnia
  5. The Red Flower Of Tachai
  6. Blooms Everywhere
  7. Ace Of Wands
  8. Carry On Up The Vicarage
  9. Acoustic Medley:
  10. Etude In A Minor / Blood On
  11. The Rooftops / Horizons / Kim
  12. The Optigan
  13. Spectral Mornings
  14. Star Of Sirius
  15. Shadow Of The Hierophant
  16. Clocks
  17. Racing In A


Live At Reading (1981)

  1. The Air Conditioned Nightmare
  2. Every Day
  3. Ace Of Wands
  4. Funny Feeling
  5. The Steppes
  6. Overnight Sleeper
  7. Slogans
  8. A Tower Struck Down
  9. Spectral Mornings
  10. The Show
  11. Clocks – The Angel Of Mons

12” EP

Live 1979

  1. I Know What I Like
  2. (In Your Wardrobe)
  3. Ace Of Wands
  4. Sentimental Institution
  5. The Red Flower Of
  6. Tachai Blooms Everywhere


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alan Wilson

This is currently £40 on the recorstore web site sale


Loads of other good box set bargains to be had as well.


Crazy good prices


Just got my copy for £46 delivered, well chuffed with it :-)

Barrie Sillars

I have just received the 5CD Classic Albums box for around £10. That is great value with each disc at around £2. Yes, they are a packaged in simple card sleeves, but the print on them is good enough you can read the credits quite clearly. Also, each disc has the original Charisma labels reproduced which is a nice touch. I wonder what the source of the mastering is. Voyage of the Acolyte has the original Shadow of the Hierophant, not the extended version included in the recent Premonitions box. I haven’t done any comparison, so can’t tell if these are taken from the 2005 masters or from the newer ones used for the upcoming vinyl box. Still, at the price a real bargain!

Phil Morris

Now down to under £110 on Amazon UK. That’s – a bit – better.

Jay Kranz

probably would have been better if the EP had all the b-sides from the boxset. oh well. not too interested in this given I have originals on vinyl and the cd boxset.

rob deighton

There’s also this as well..


Which is good if you are just after the bare bones charisma albums


It’s a fetching set, but it’s priced only slightly less than the Queen mondo vinyl box, so it seems a bit… erm… salty for what you’re getting.

Hoping the price comes down a bit. Would certainly make it more enticing.

Also, does anybody else find the timing weird? They went to the trouble of doing the big CD box towards the end of last year, but the vinyl box arrives some six months later almost seeming like an afterthought?

Phil Morris

Ties in with the release of the 3 individual sets. Plus presumably they wished to assess potential interest on the basis of how the CD set sold. The Genesis vinyl box sets also followed the CD sets – by many years in the case of the most recent one.


Oh my god now that is really a brain teaser: I already have all the albums in original UK pressings. Do I need to buy this boxset ? Yes for the two live albums, and also maybe yes because the perspective of having new and mint vinyl copies is appealing. But my UK originals are not that much worn out, and there are genuine (and analog).
I guess it all depends on the price tag. We’ll see.


An inspiring box

eric slangen

That looks good. Now waiting for the price to come down.


Record companies: “Hey, people are buying vinyl for ridiculous amounts of money! We own lots of music we could re-press on vinyl! We wouldn’t usually touch this stuff with a bargepole anymore, but our new music doesn’t sell, not on vinyl at any rate. Get that Steve whatsisname stuff out of the vault, let’s put all of that in a box and sell it again! Happy days!!”