Steven Wilson / Drive Home reissue

The Kscope label are for the first time putting out some budget reissues of selected titles with, they insist, “no compromise in packaging”. The pick of this initial batch is probably a 2016 CD/DVD edition of Steven Wilson‘s Drive Home

Drive Home was an EP issued in late 2013 and in terms of SW chronology, its release sits between The Raven That Refused to Sing (issued in February of that same year) and 2015’s Hand.Cannot.Erase.

It’s very much a collection of ‘bits and bobs’ although that’s to do it a disservice since the DVD features a stunning video to Drive Home (see below) and for The The Raven That Refused To Sing (both directed by Jess Cope) as well as four tracks performed live at Frankfurt.

The DVD (NTSC, region free) also includes a couple of audio-only tracks, The Birthday Party (recorded at the same sessions as the tracks that made up the Raven album) and
The Raven That Refused To Sing (Orchestral Version). These are both in 5.1 surround sound and stereo (as are the videos).

These tracks are also featured on the companion CD, along with the audio from the live tracks and an edit of Drive Home.

The set is packaged in a mini-LP gatefold sleeve and priced at around the £8 mark, which is outstanding value. It will be released on 26 August along with other titles from artists on the same label, such as Ian Anderson‘s excellent Homo Erraticus and Anathema‘s Distant Satellites. This are available from the Burning Shed store and via links below.


Steven Wilson: Drive Home DVD/CD

Disc 1 – DVD (Region 0, NTSC):

1 Drive Home (Video) 08:20
2 The Raven That Refused To Sing (Video) 07:49
3 The Holy Drinker (Live In Frankfurt Video) 10:25
4 Insurgentes (Live In Frankfurt Video) 04:30
5 The Watchmaker (Live In Frankfurt Video) 11:52
6 The Raven That Refused To Sing (Live In Frankfurt Video) 08:12
7 The Birthday Party 03:46
8 The Raven That Refused To Sing (Orchestral Version) 07:29

Disc 2 – CD:

1 Drive Home (Edit) 04:08
2 The Birthday Party 03:46
3 The Raven That Refused To Sing (Orchestral Version) 07:29
4 The Holy Drinker (Live In Frankfurt) 10:25
5 Insurgentes (Live In Frankfurt) 04:30
6 The Watchmaker (Live In Frankfurt) 11:52
7 The Raven That Refused To Sing (Live In Frankfurt) 08:12

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

It’s a terrific album. I happily picked up an autographed copy of it last year in a little record shop in St Albans. (It was the only thing by Wilson I did not own.) At the time, everything in the record store by Wilson (solo, side projects – not remixing of other artists – and PT) was signed. According to the shop owner, he lives nearby and simply signs his stuff if he comes in for a browse.

I love every era of Porcupine Tree. The metal-informed stuff towards the end is immense, and for me, Fear of a Blank Planet is their zenith. :)

Les London

Can’t say I’ve heard of Steven Wilson before but enjoyed the song and video Paul, got a Pink Floyd / Alan Parsons vibe about it both of which I like. So for £8 for CD & DVD seems worth checking out to me at that price.


Les, he’s an intriguing guy – spends a lot of time in the control booth remixing classic albums, which means he has an ear for the subtleties of that era. Drive Home is quite accessible, so you’re off to a good start. For something a bit darker, more ethereal, his release “Grace for Drowning” is a real treat.

You might like some of the older, pre-2002 Porcupine Tree albums too. After that point, Wilson began playing around with heavy metal and to me took a nose dive in quality (with a few minor wins here and there), which led to his solo career, which I like more than any of his other side projects. But that’s just me, and I come from the 1970s school of pretentious art/progressive rock, just so you know.

Julian H

Alan Parsons was the engineer for the studio album :)



I admit I just don’t understand record labels. There doesn’t seem to be a cohesive release strategy, they just keep throwing things out.

Take Homo Erraticus. From what I can see, this new release is a single disc effort in a jewel case. A quick check of Amazon shows (at time of writing) that the single disc version that was already released is still available, and at £6.49 new, or £5 Used. There was also two Special Editions. The first was a four disc set, which is now going for silly money since it sold out. The second has a second disc with a hi-res version of the album and some extras. This is £11.99 new or £7 Used.

So if you’re at the label pondering how to get more money from this album, what would you do? Would you reissue the single disc, the two disc set, or the four disc? If you release the single disc, then you’re competing against yourself, with a product that costs more – so that’s plainly stupid. The two disc is at the right price point already, and is still available.

That leaves the four disc. This would be much more expensive to reproduce, but of course they could throttle down the packaging and lower their costs. It’s sold out, and selling for silly money, so there’s an identifiable demand.

What do they do? The single disc. Huh? Is it any wonder CD sales are down? What’s the strategy here? They’re clearly not going to sell significant numbers of this one. The one and only plus I see for the label is that it allows them to try and push attention of the title toward the top of promotional materials, they update the release date giving the impression of something new. But then again, it’s not like people are that stupid, surely?



I bought the Blu-ray sealed for a £1 from amazon a few years back guess that was lucky.