The Doobie Brothers / The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983


Rhino are certainly cranking out the ‘Warner Bros. Years’ collections this summer, with the latest a ten-CD box set in favoured clamshell packaging, summarising The Doobie Brothers’ output for the label.

The collection includes the nine studio albums recorded for Warner Bros. starting with 1971’s eponymous debut and ending, appropriately enough, with Farewell Tour, their 1983 live album.

No bonus tracks and you can expect these to use whatever the last remaster was. Particularly good price in Germany for European fans.

The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983 is out on 17 July 2015.

Track listing

Disc: 1
1. Nobody
2. Slippery St. Paul
3. Greenwood Creek
4. It Won’t Be Right
5. Travelin’ Man
6. Feelin’ Down Farther
7. The Master
8. Growin’ a Little Each Day
9. Beehive State
10. Closer Every Day
11. Chicago
Disc: 2
1. Listen to the Music
2. Rockin’ Down the Highway
3. Mamaloi
4. Toulouse Street
5. Cotton Mouth
6. Don’t Start Me to Talkin’
7. Jesus Is Just Alright
8. White Sun
9. Disciple
10. Snake Man
Disc: 3
1. Natural Thing
2. Long Train Runnin’
3. China Grove
4. Dark Eyed Cajun Woman
5. Clear As the Driven Snow
6. Without You
7. South City Midnight Lady
8. Evil Woman
9. Busted Down Around O’Connelly Corners
10. Ukiah
11. The Captain and Me
Disc: 4
1. Song to See You Through
2. Spirit
3. Pursuit On 53rd Street
4. Black Water
5. Eyes of Silver
6. Road Angel
7. You Just Can’t Stop It
8. Tell Me What You Want (And I’ll Give You What You Need)
9. Down in the Track
10. Another Park, Another Sunday
11. Daughters of the Sea
12. Flying Cloud
Disc: 5
1. Sweet Maxine
2. Neal’s Fandango
3. Texas Lullaby
4. Music Man
5. Slack Key Soquel Rag
6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)
7. I Cheat the Hangman
8. Precis
9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues
10. I Been Workin’ On You
11. Double Dealin’ Four Flusher
Disc: 6
1. Wheels of Fortune
2. Takin’ It to the Streets
3. 8th Avenue Shuffle
4. Losin’ End
5. Rio
6. For Someone Special
7. It Keeps You Runnin’
8. Turn It Loose
9. Carry Me Away
Disc: 7
1. You’re Made That Way
2. Echoes of Love
3. Little Darling (I Need You)
4. You Belong to Me
5. Livin’ On the Fault Line
6. Nothin’ But a Heartache
7. Chinatown
8. There’s a Light
9. Need a Lady
10. Larry the Logger Two-step
Disc: 8
1. Here to Love You
2. What a Fool Believes
3. Minute By Minute
4. Dependin’ On You
5. Don’t Stop to Watch the Wheels
6. Open Your Eyes
7. Sweet Feelin’
8. Steamer Lane Breakdown
9. You Never Change
10. How Do Fools Survive?
Disc: 9
1. Dedicate This Heart
2. Real Love
3. No Stoppin’ Us Now
4. Thank You Love
5. One Step Closer
6. Keep This Train A-rollin’
7. Just in Time
8. South Bay Strut (Instrumental)
9. One By One
Disc: 10
1. Slippery St. Paul
2. Takin’ It to the Streets
3. Jesus Is Just Alright With Me
4. Minute By Minute
5. Can’t Let It Get Away
6. Listen to the Music
7. Echoes of Love
8. What a Fool Believes
9. Black Water
10. You Belong to Me
11. Slack Key Soquel Rag
12. Steamer Lane Breakdown
13. South City Midnight Lady
14. Olana
15. Don’t Start Me Talkin’
16. Long Train Runnin’
17. China Grove

SDE helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] The Doobie Brothers / The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983 […]

Wayne Klein

The two individual 5 CD boxes use the earlier masters as I recall.


What you really want are the remastered Edsel two-fers from a few years ago. The series didn’t include “One Step Closer” or “Farewell Tour,” but the sound is fantastic throughout.


As most have pointed out, this is a blatant record company ploy. But the real rip off is the two original 5 cd box sets. Most people know that the original Doobies had two separate careers. The Tom Johnston/Jeff Baxter rock orientated years followed by the Michael McDonald AOR years. Each incarnation produced five original LPs.Some people preferred the early music and some the latter.
So just to make sure you buy both box sets they miss the first LP off box set one and include it on the second set. The first McDonald LP is included instead!
Surely anyone with an iota of common sense would have split the box sets into the Michael McDonald era and the Simmons/Baxter era. Now that’s what you call ripping off the record buying public!


No, that’s marketing. The record company are trying to maximise their sales, because it’s a business.

The only person that can rip you off is yourself. You are always in control of whether you buy or not. It is always your choice. If you feel it would be a rip-off, then you make a sensible choice and don’t buy. If you buy after deciding it would be a rip-off, then you ripped yourself off.


Darren you’re right, it is a business and its an individual choice whether to buy or not. But it doesn’t stop it being a cynical ploy. It’s a rip-off even if no people buy. The music industry is based on people’s naivety and rarely is the customer treated with respect.


Record companies STILL treating people who buy physical music like mugs, I’m afraid. They really don’t get it.

Maybe there are people prepared to pay over the odds for vinyl, but CD sets like this are just taking the proverbial. Which is a shame, because the music itself is fantastic. The two separate sets are essential stuff.


You can buy the two existing 5 CD boxes for £9.99 each = £19.98

So why would anyone pay £35.99 for this 10 CD box of the exact same content?

The last box set only came out less than 2 years ago. So the whole thing is odd.


Posted before I saw JS’s comment….yep, same content for much more.


What a rip-off price. You can get the two separate “Original Album Classic” sets for a tenner each…..same 10 albums for almost half the asking price. And the packaging is arguably nicer (if a little flimsy).

Wayne Klein

Except I suspect these use the latest Japanese remasters if the other releases by Warner are any indication.


Original Album Series Vol.1+2 in one box