The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story / new hits package


Parlophone Label Group will release a new Spandau Ballet compilation in October.

The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story will be available as a one-CD edition or a two-disc deluxe set and takes a familiar trip down memory lane, including tracks from all of their studio albums (including 2009’s Once More) and most of the singles.

The second CD included in the deluxe edition fills in a few of the blanks from disc one (Paint Me Down, She Loves Like Diamond etc.) and shines a light on some album cuts such as Mandolin and Age Of Blows from 1981 debut Journeys to Glory. The sole remix appears to be the ‘Glide Mix’ of I’ll Fly For You. Interestingly, an early track listing published on Amazon (now superseded) featured Paul Oakenfold ‘Club’ and ‘Dub’ mixes of Gold and the ‘Remix’ of Chant No 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On) on disc two – all of these are now absent from the finished product.

Three new tracks produced by Trevor Horn are the probably the main draw of this new collection. The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story will be released on 13 October 2013.

2CD Deluxe

Single CD edition


Track listing

Disc: 1

1. To Cut A Long Story Short (2010 Remastered Version)
2. The Freeze (7” Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
3. Musclebound (7” Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
4. Chant No 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On) [2010 Remastered Version]
5. Instinction (2010 Remastered Version)
6. Lifeline (2003 Remastered Version)
7. Communication (2003 Remastered Version)
8. True
9. Gold
10. Only When You Leave (2010 Remastered Version)
11. I’ll Fly For You (2010 Remastered Version)
12. Highly Strung (2010 Remastered Version)
13. Round And Round (Single Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
14. Fight For Ourselves
15. Through The Barricades
16. Once More
17. This Is The Love
18. Steal
19. Soul Boy (Edit)

Disc: 2 (deluxe only)
1. Confused (2010 Remastered Version)
2. Toys (2010 Remastered Version)
3. Mandolin (2010 Remastered Version)
4. Age Of Blows (2010 Remastered Version)
5. Glow (7” Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
6. Chant No 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On) [Re-Mix] [2010 Remastered Version]
7. Pharaoh (2010 – Remaster)
8. Paint Me Down (2010 Remastered Version)
9. She Loved Like Diamond (2010 Remastered Version)
10. Code Of Love (2003 Remastered Version)
11. Pleasure (2003 Remastered Version)
12. I’ll Fly For You (Glide Mix) [2010 Remastered Version]
13. How Many Lies?
14. Man In Chains
15. Be Free With Your Love
16. Raw

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tom Doherty

Why isn’t this available on vinyl? Shortsightness from the record label for sure!


I want to buy only the 3 new songs, I’m not interesting in songs that I have already got.


I just heard the single and really like it.


It’s definitely better than Once More. Almost sounds like a Prefab Sprout.


Heard today new song ‘This Is The Love’. Nothing special.

Keith Lambert

The 2010 remasters again? No thanks……

I’d really like to see some ‘Studio Masters’ Hi-Res audio of SB appear on QoBuz, HD Tracks or the like.

It would be great to hear their back catalogue in that quality.


It was mentioned earlier that Chant No. 1 (Remix) has been removed from the updated track listing on disc 2. Well it’s still there according to Amazon.uk and Amazon.de.


Oh God, are they reallly using the awful and totally worthless 2010 remasters again?? I don’t get it: do the compilers have normal functiong ears or what? The 2010 masters should be removed from the vaults and destroyed. The mastering engineer should take another job. I will refrain from mentioning his name here.


I’ll probably end up getting this at some point or another just because i’ve bought everything else they’ve released. The 2010 Journeys/Parade remasters were not acceptable. Gary Kemp is a control freak and always has a final say in Spandau’s finished work. I can’t believe that he would’ve approved of those remasters !


Second release in a row they’ve turned a couple of new recordings into a full-length compilation; “To Make a Short Story Long” would be more apt.

E.P.s would have been better; plenty of people – myself included – would jump at new Trevor Horn-produced songs. Instead we get a complete mess of an exploitation. Dodgy 2010 remasters thrown in for good measure here and there.


Their reissued deluxe editions were better as they had 12inch extended versions included. I am not really interested in a few new songs.


The 2010 remaster of Parade wasn’t that good either. If you want the best sound on a Spandau collection get the 3cd Reformation set .


The 2010 remasters were very hit and miss. Diamond (my favourite Spandau album) didn’t seem to suffer too badly (it sounds marginally better than the original CD release I own) but Journeys was awful awful awful – compressed to hell and treble boosted. The original CD release sounds much much better (and even that was pretty dull).

Would quite like to hear the new tracks as I was pretty impressed with the new ones on One More Time (actually I quite liked the whole thing).


those 2010 remasters are terrible arent they? waste of time, will download the three new ones on own!


Seems like a missed opportunity to have not put all Trevor Horn related Spandau on one release by not including the Instinction 7″ mix with the new stuff.


I think this it. It wouldn’t make sense to release a best of with a few new tracks and then a brand new album a couple of months later. Maybe next year though .


I’m satisfied with the Gold cd/dvd combo which came out a few years. Apparently there is a new album due for Xmas this year, which this will nicely tie into. Unless it IS this…


I’m surprised that the gorgeous Gently, the B-side to ‘Instinction’, and the fantastic-single-that-never-was-but-should-have-been, Coffee Club, are not on Disc 2. I think those could have replaced a couple of the Journeys to Glory tracks on the same disc.


The sole attraction on this are the 3 new Trevor Horn produced tracks. I think JTG has been over represented on disc 2. Personally I’d opt for Foundation, With The Pride and Empty Spaces. Besides if they’re using those 2010 remasters weren’t a lot of them messed up.