Well regarded ‘Collected’ compilations to be issued on limited coloured vinyl

Universal Music in the Netherlands have released some great Collected CD compilations in these last few years, summarising the careers of acts as diverse as Robert Palmer, Level 42 and Buddy Holly. Music On Vinyl have already issued some of these on vinyl, but have recently announced a new phase of the series which will include Thin Lizzy, Joe Jackson, UB40, The Moody Blues, 10cc and Marvin Gaye.

Like their three-CD cousins, this 2LP Collected releases are distinguished by intelligent curation, mixing familiar hits with ‘deep cuts’ and hidden gems. For example, the forthcoming Thin Lizzy set also features three Phil Lynott solo tracks; Kings Call, Old Town and Yellow Pearl.

First pressings of the new releases will be available in limited coloured vinyl and many editions feature inserts with liner notes. These are all gatefolds with high quality PVC protective sleeves and the Thin Lizzy release features a special embossed sleeve.

Amazon have the standard black vinyl versions available for pre-order, but seeking out the limited coloured pressings may involve some legwork. Germany’s JPC do have these listed now..

The Marvin Gaye, Thin Lizzy, Joe Jackson and UB40 Collected vinyl sets will be released on 5 May 2017. Further sets featuring Charles Aznavour, The Mama & the Papas, Moody Blues and 10cc will follow at the end of June.

Compare prices and pre-order

Marvin Gaye

Marvin Gaye: Collected 2LP Black vinyl


Compare prices and pre-order

Thin Lizzy

Thin Lizzy: Collected 2LP Black vinyl

Shop Price gbp Stock
Amazon uk   116.74
Amazon de   130
Amazon jp   23800.00

Compare prices and pre-order

Joe Jackson

Joe Jackson: Collected 2LP Black vinyl


Compare prices and pre-order

UB40 (Ub40)

UB40: Collected 2LP Black vinyl


Marvin Gaye / Collected 2LP

Side One

  • 1. (I’m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over
  • 2. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
  • 3. Hitch Hike
  • 4. Pride And Joy
  • 5. Can I Get A Witness
  • 6. Once Upon A Time (with Mary Wells)
  • 7. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
  • 8. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)

Side Two

  • 1. It Takes Two (with Kim Weston)
  • 2. I’ll Be Doggone
  • 3. Ain’t That Peculiar
  • 4. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (with Tammi Terrell)
  • 5. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
  • 6. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing (with Tammi Terrell)
  • 7. You’re All I Need To Get By (with Tammi Terrell)
  • 8. Too Busy Thinking About My Baby

Side Three

  • 1. What’s Going On
  • 2. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
  • 3. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
  • 4. Trouble Man
  • 5. Let’s Get It On
  • 6. You Are Everything (with Diana Ross)

Side Four

  • 1. Distant Lover
  • 2. I Want You
  • 3. Got To Give It Up
  • 4. Heavy Love Affair
  • 5. Sexual Healing
  • 6. Sanctified Lady

Thin Lizzy / Collected 2LP

Side One

  • 1. Whiskey In The Jar
  • 2. Sarah
  • 3. The Rocker
  • 4. Still In Love With You
  • 5. Wild One
  • 6. Rosalie

Side Two

  • 1. Suicide
  • 2. The Boys Are Back In Town
  • 3. Jailbreak
  • 4. Cowboy Song
  • 5. Emerald
  • 6. Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed

Side Three

  • 1. Don’t Believe A Word
  • 2. Bad Reputation
  • 3. Dancing In The Moonlight
  • 4. That Woman’s Gonna Break Your Heart
  • 5. Soldier Of Fortune
  • 6. Do You Anything Want To
  • 7. Waiting For An Alibi

Side Four

  • 1. Chinatown
  • 2. Hollywood
  • 3. The Sun Goes Down
  • 4. Cold Sweat
  • 5. Phil Lynott – King’s Call
  • 6. Phil Lynott – Old Town
  • 7. Phil Lynott – Yellow Pearl

Joe Jackson / Collected 2LP

Side 1

  • 1. Fools In Love
  • 2. Is She Really Going Out With Him?
  • 3. Look Sharp!
  • 4. Got The Time
  • 5. Sunday Papers
  • 6. It’s Different For Girls
  • 7. I’m The Man

Side 2

  • 1. Mad At You
  • 2. Beat Crazy
  • 3. One To One
  • 4. The Harder They Come
  • 5. Jumpin’ Jive
  • 6. Another World
  • 7. Steppin’ Out

Side 3

  • 1. Real Men
  • 2. A Slow Song
  • 3. Breaking Us In Two
  • 4. Be My Number Two
  • 5. You Can’t Get What You Want (Till You Know What You Want)

Side 4

  • 1. Happy Ending (feat. Elaine Caswell)
  • 2. (He’s A) Shape In A Drape
  • 3. Nineteen Forever
  • 4. Stranger Than Fiction
  • 5. Home Town (Live)
  • 6. Is She Really Going Out With Him? (A Capella Live Version)

UB40 / Collected 2LP

Side One

  • 1. Tyler
  • 2. Burden Of Shame
  • 3. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today
  • 4. Food For Thought
  • 5. Don’t Do The Crime

Side Two

  • 1. One In Ten
  • 2. Sardonicus
  • 3. Please Don’t Make Me Cry
  • 4. Cherry Oh Baby
  • 5. Red Red Wine
  • 6. If It Happens Again
  • 7. Don’t Slow Down

Side Three

  • 1. I Got You Babe (ft. Chrissie Hynde)
  • 2. Don’t Break My Heart
  • 3. Sing Our Own Song
  • 4. Rat In Mi Kitchen
  • 5. All I Want To Do
  • 6. Maybe Tomorrow
  • 7. Afrika Bambaataa and Family ft. UB 40 – Reckless

Side Four

  • 1. Breakfast In Bed (ft. Chrissie Hynde)
  • 2. Homely Girl
  • 3. Kingston Town
  • 4. Robert Palmer ft. UB40 – I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  • 5. Tears From My Eyes
  • 6. Here I Am (Come And Take Me)
  • 7. (I Can’t Help) Falling In Love With You

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I bought the UB40 on red vinyl and it had some kind of etching on side 3. Looks like they’ve pressed some waves on the grooves and it sounds terrible! I’ve tried to get a new one from my retailer and they’ve told me it’s sold out…


Thin Lizzy – what a band! I fortunately saw them play a great loud show at the Manchester Apollo in the early 80’s. That was also first time I saw a custom silver mirror on the body of Phil’s guitar, so he could shine the spotlight all over the cheering crowd.

Interesting to see the above “recordstore” link has each title being pressed in a limited quantity of 1,500 while Music On Vinyl’s website ups the Thin Lizzy and Marvin Gaye titles to 2,500 each.

Steve Rickard

What! records have them for £19:99 each plus postage.

Donal Murphy

@zombiekev, great find, thanks for the tip off.


The coloured vinyl pressings of all four are currently available to pre-order from the Sony Recordstore website at £22.99 each (+ postage).


I like the look of the Joe Jackson one.

Randy Metro

Just wonderin’….. how is the sound going to be on the vinyl with 7 and even 8 songs per side? I thought LP sides had to be limited to 20 minutes with a softer song on the inner most grooves; otherwise sound quality is compromised.