More pictures of The Verve box sets

A Northern Soul box  – click to enlarge

Only last week the super deluxe edition box sets of The Verve‘s first two albums were announced. With these new photos we can get a better feel for the contents…

Above shows the disc designs, poster and postcards within the A Northern Soul set and below you can see the same for A Storm in Heaven, which features an additional DVD.

A Storm in Heaven box – click to enlarge


The track listings are below, but you can read all the details about this two box sets here. Both are now more widely available and will be issued on 9 September 2016 along with gatefold vinyl editions.

Compare prices and pre-order

The Verve

A Storm In Heaven box set


Compare prices and pre-order

The Verve

A Northern Soul box set


Compare prices and pre-order

The Verve

A Storm In Heaven [VINYL]


Compare prices and pre-order

The Verve

A Northern Soul [VINYL]




CD1: The Remastered Album

  1. Star Sail
  2. Slide Away
  3. Already There
  4. Beautiful Mind
  5. The Sun, The Sea
  6. Virtual World
  7. Make It ‘Til Monday
  8. Blue
  9. Butterfly
  10. See You In The Next One (Have A Good Time)

CD2: B-sides, E.P. Tracks

All In The Mind (9/3/1992)

  1. All In The Mind
  2. One Way To Go
  3. A Man Called Sun

She’s A Superstar (22/6/1992)

  1. She’s A Superstar
  2. Feel

Gravity Grave (5/10/1992)

  1. Gravity Grave (Extended Version)
  2. Endless Life
  3. A Man Called Sun (live)
  4. Gravity Grave (live encore)

Blue (10/5/1993)

  1. Twilight
  2. Where The Geese Go
  3. No Come Down
  4. Blue (USA Mix)

Slide Away (29/9/1992)

  1. 6 O’Clock

CD3: B-Side, Radio Sessions, Unreleased Studio Tracks

Slide Away cont. (20/9/1993)

  1. Make It Til Monday (acoustic)
  2. Virtual World (acoustic)

Originally issued on the compilation ‘No Come Down’ (B-sides and out-takes)

  1. Gravity Grave (live Glastonbury 1993)
  2. Butterfly (acoustic)


Radio 1 Session – 7/02/1992 (previously unreleased)

  1. Slide Away
  2. She’s A Superstar
  3. Already There
  4. Brake Lights

RADIO 1 (Mark Radcliffe) Session – 7/12/1993 (previously unreleased)

  1. Star Sail
  2. A Man Called Sun
  3. Six O’Clock
  4. Gravity Grave

Unreleased Sawmills Studio Sessions (previously unreleased)

  1. Shoeshine Girl
  2. South Pacific


Promo videos

  1. All In The Mind
  2. She’s A Superstar
  3. Gravity Grave
  4. Blue
  5. Slide Away

Live at Camden Town Hall – 23/10/92

  1. Slide Away
  2. All In The Mind
  3. She’s A Superstar
  4. Staring Stranger
  5. A Man Called Sun
  6. South Pacific
  7. Already There
  8. The Sun, The Sea
  9. Gravity Grave

Bonus content:

  1. A Man Called Sun (N.Y.C. Flatbed Truck – 1992
  2. South Pacific (Sawmills footage filmed by John Leckie)
  3. Blue (USA Mix (promo video)


CD1: The Remastered Album 

  1. A New Decade
  2. This Is Music
  3. On Your Own
  4. So It Goes
  5. A Northern Soul
  6. Brainstorm Interlude
  7. Drive You Home
  8. History
  9. No Knock On My Door
  10. Life’s An Ocean
  11. Stormy Clouds
  12. (Reprise)

CD2: B-Sides 

This Is Music

  1. Let The Damage Begin
  2. You And Me

On Your Own

  1. I See The Door
  2. Little Gem
  3. Dance On Your Bones


  1. History (radio edit)
  2. Back On My Feet Again
  3. On Your Own (Acoustic)
  4. Monkey Magic (Brainstorm Mix)
  5. Grey Skies
  6. Life’s Not A Rehearsal

CD3 – Unreleased Studio and BBC Sessions 

  1. Brake Lights
  2. Mover
  3. Funky Jam (aka he Rolling People)
  4. Echo Bass
  5. Muhammad Ali
  6. Come On
  7. King Riff (aka This Is Music)

BBC Radio 1 Session – 28/6/1995

  1. On Your Own
  2. So It Goes

BBC Radio 1 Session (19/6/1995)

  1. A New Decade
  2. This Is Music
  3. Life’s An Ocean
  4. Come On


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Just a heads up.
Many of the tracks being advertised on the Storm boxset ARE NOT ACTUALLY INCLUDED.

The promo videos and ‘Staring Stranger’ from the Camden show are not part of the boxset.


Paul, any chances of a DVD being included in the A Northern Soul box set? I mean, sometimes there are last minute changes… it’d be nice to have a DVD as part of this set.


Too bad :(
Thanks for the answer!


Seems to be more paper and cardboard than music.


What a stupid thing to say. Three discs of music in each set. Quite a bit of it previously unreleased. The ‘paper and cardboard’ is what makes these super deluxe editions. Don’t like it? Don’t buy it. If you just want the music, you can download it.

Phil Wilson

I bought the Japan ones though for the 2 extra tracks (of the Oasis 3CD sets that is). I think a bigger Urban Hymns box might come, but was forth popular enough? There were a number of b-sides, and they obviously recorded live sets, as they put out 5 tracks from Coachella, so maybe they could. The Haigh Hall gig might be a nice addition to the Urban Hymns box, with bonus tracks from other shows?

Phil Wilson

But the Oasis 3CD sets (which is what we have with A Northern Soul) was only around £13.99 I believe in the UK, so the extra covers the box and the poster/postcard. I agree the big box sets for Oasis were overpriced and I avoided them, but the 3CD versions were really good value IMO.

Ben Williams

I wish the Oasis boxsets had been as cool looking and as decent value as these Verve sets. I might actually have bought them then! These Verve sets look great, and it excites me for (I assume) next two.