Best of the Grateful Dead on 2LP

The Grateful Dead‘s 50th Anniversary ‘Best Of’ which was issued on CD last month, is coming to vinyl LP.

The chronological order of these studio cuts remains, but this double-LP set only takes in ‘disc one’ of the two-CD package (hence the ‘1967-1977’ subtitle) and ends with Estimated Prophet from Terrapin Station. This sixteen minute title track from that album doesn’t feature however, and presumably that will kick off a volume two ‘1977-1989’.

This vinyl package will still feature the new remasters of course and will, presumably, use the same versions of each track including the rare single edit of Dark Star.

The Best of the Grateful Dead 1967-1977 on 2LP is released on 8 June 2015.

Side 1
1. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion) [2015 Remastered Version]
2. Cream Puff War (2015 Remastered Version)
3. Born Cross-Eyed (2015 Remastered Version)
4. Dark Star (2015 Remastered Version) [Single Version]
5. St. Stephen (2015 Remastered Version)
6. China Cat Sunflower (2015 Remastered Version)

Side 2
1. Uncle John’s Band (2015 Remastered Version)
2. Easy Wind (2015 Remastered Version)
3. Casey Jones (2015 Remastered Version)
4. Truckin’ (2015 Remastered Version)

Side 3
1. Box Of Rain (2015 Remastered Version)
2. Sugar Magnolia (2015 Remastered Version)
3. Friend Of The Devil (2015 Remastered Version)
4. Ripple (2015 Remastered Version)
5. Eyes Of The World (2015 Remastered Version)

Side 4
1. Unbroken Chain (2015 Remastered Version)
2. Scarlet Begonias (2015 Remastered Version)
3. The Music Never Stopped (2015 Remastered Version)
4. Estimated Prophet (2015 Remastered Version)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

FYI – If vinyl is really your thing there is also available, at least from US online sites, “The Very Best Of The Grateful Dead” from label Friday Music…

“Relive your favorite moments once again with these incredible songs from your favorite band…now an audiophile vinyl reality… What A Long Strange Trip It’s Been.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered from Original Warner Bros., Grateful Dead & Arista RecordsTapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso with Kevin Gray
• Authorized by the Grateful Dead
• Original CD cover artwork in gatefold format
• Complete LP vinyl full color cover discography
• Protective vinyl outer sleeve
• Poly-lined inner sleeve

LP1 – Side 1:
1. Truckin’
2. Touch of Grey
3. Sugar Magnolia
4. Casey Jones

LP1 – Side 2:
1. Uncle John’s Band
2. Friend of the Devil
3. Franklin’s Tower
4. Estimated Prophet
5. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)

LP2 – Side 3:
1. Eyes of the World
2. Box of Rain
3. U.S. Blues
4. One More Saturday Night

LP2 – Side 4:
1. Fire On the Mountain
2. The Music Never Stopped
3. Hell In a Bucket
4. Ripple


Preordered from Amazon.com for $38.40 including tax.


Amazon it 41,61 euro


$140.00 for both vinyl collections? I got the 2-CD set for $14.88.