Billy Joel / An Innocent Man SACD


Thirty years on from the original release, audiophile specialists Mobile Fidelity are issuing a hybrid SACD edition of Billy Joel‘s An Innocent Man.

Joel’s ninth studio album proved to be a massive commercial success, with three US top ten hits, including the UK number one Uptown Girl.

This numbered, limited edition is mastered from the original master tapes and will play on all CD players and SACD players. Mofi boast that the quality of the audio on this set “effortlessly outshines that heard on all previous editions”.

An Innocent Man Hybrid SACD is released on 2 July 2013.

An Innocent Man SACD track listing:

  • 1. Easy Money
  • 2. An Innocent Man
  • 3. The Longest Time
  • 4. This Night
  • 5. Tell Her About It
  • 6. Uptown Girl
  • 7. Careless Talk
  • 8. Christie Lee
  • 9. Leave a Tender Moment Alone
  • 10. Keeping the Faith

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I’ve been comparing the Mobile Fidelity issues to the new 2011 Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II. I find the songs much clearer on the GH without being harsh. It sounds to me as if they’ve found better /or the original mix down tapes. There’s a box set with all new 2011 re-remastering by Ted Jensen and the original New York State of mind has been restored. The box set is around $300. I believe the 2011 version of Greatest Hits contains the new mastering as I’ve compared the songs with the older 1998.

[…] Billy Joel / An Innocent Man SACD […]


My first impression of listening to The Stranger on MoFi was a welcome warm sound. I then thought the Sax sounded too warm and distant. I was soon thinking Billy’s vocals were strange like he was a long way from the microphone. Then I realized (like many others) the midrange was sucked out. The people that like this recording are comparing it to the original vinyl and cassette tape. This maybe how it was originally recorded but I don’t think this is how these albums are supposed to sound. Maybe when they originally mixed the album they were compensating for harsh studio monitors?
My Monitor Audio RX6 speakers are far from dull but these new releases sound distant to my ears.
Maybe the original Master Tapes were EQ’d for vinyl, or they are deliberately making these SACD’s sound extra warm.
I’ve now ordered the original Sony SACD’s.


I love the OLD MoFi, not the recent reincarnation it’s gone through. I won’t mention names, but the last four or five of their SACD releases have been remastered by the same guy, and not one of them is impressive-sounding. Like the post says above, they’re generally flat and lifeless. Try HDTracks, I’ve been much more impressed by their product.


As much as I love MoFi and wish that more labels would issue SACDs, I was really disappointed with their SACD issue of Piano Man. I thought it sounded very flat and lacking in dynamic range, so I’m a little hesitant to buy any more of their Billy Joel SACDs. Looks like MoFi is also issuing it as a 2LP 180g 45 RPM set.


I already have the Sony SACD version of this. Can’t think this will sound THAT much better.


I’m assuming just stereo, no multichannel mix?