Bob Dylan / Bootleg Series Vol 10: Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)


Columbia Records will release Bootleg Series Vol 10: Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) by Bob Dylan on 27 August 2013.

This latest volume of the long-running Bootleg Series includes unreleased recordings, demos and alternate takes drawn mainly from the 1970 studio recording sessions that resulted in Self Portrait and New Morning albums. In total 35 rarities and previously unreleased recordings including a previously unavailable version of Only A Hobo and the demo version of When I Paint My Masterpiece.

Another Self Portrait will be offered in two-disc and four-disc configurations, with the latter taking the form of a deluxe box set, which will include for the first time the complete performance by Bob Dylan and The Band from the Isle of Wight Festival on August 31, 1969. The box set comes in a slip case and will also include the newly remastered version of the 1970 Self Portrait album, in its entirety with original sequencing, in addition to two hardcover books.

A vinyl version will include the 35 tracks from the two-CD set on three LPs plus a 12″ x 12″ booklet. Full track listing is below.

4CD Deluxe Box Set with two books

3LP Vinyl Set

2CD set


CD 1

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)

  • 1 Went To See The Gypsy (demo)
  • 2 In Search Of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 3 Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 4 Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
  • 5 Spanish Is The Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 6 Annie’s Going To Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 7 Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
  • 8 Only A Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
  • 9 Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
  • 10 I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
  • 11 Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 12 Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 13 This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 14 These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 15 Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 16 House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 17 All The Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)


CD 2

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)

  • 1 If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
  • 2 Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
  • 3 Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 4 Days Of ’49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 5 Working On A Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
  • 6 Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
  • 7 I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
  • 8 Highway 61 Revisited (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
  • 9 Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 10 Bring Me A Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
  • 11 Sign On The Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
  • 12 Tattle O’Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
  • 13 If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
  • 14 New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
  • 15 Went To See The Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
  • 16 Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
  • 17 Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
  • 18 When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)


CD 3 [deluxe box only]

Bob Dylan & The Band / Isle of Wight – August 31, 1969

  • 1 She Belongs To Me
  • 2 I Threw It All Away
  • 3 Maggie’s Farm
  • 4 Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 5 It Ain’t Me, Babe
  • 6 To Ramona/ Mr. Tambourine Man
  • 7 I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
  • 8 Lay Lady Lay
  • 9 Highway 61 Revisited
  • 10 One Too Many Mornings
  • 11 I Pity The Poor Immigrant
  • 12 Like A Rolling Stone
  • 13 I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  • 14 Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
  • 15 Minstrel Boy
  • 16 Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

CD 4 – Newly remastered Self Portrait album, in its entirety with original sequencing,

Bob Dylan / Bootleg Series Vol 10 (1969-1971) Another Self Portrait

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] alternative versions. This latest collection, which can be seen as a companion piece to 2013’s The Bootleg Series Vol. 10: Another Self Portrait (1969-1971), pulls together three-and-a-half hours of material from New York studio sessions that took place […]

Stevie Dal

@Hedley , the tracks on the 2cd version really bear little resemblance to their Self Portrait incarnations, they are either overdub free or demos , and the unreleased tracks are OUTSTANDING , for the most part.
Don’t let the original LP put you off, this is much better , a superb release.


Steve, very much appreciate the update. I have been listening to the tracks on NPR and still can’t really get to grips with it.
I guess this will be the one I skip. Oh well, back to the mono box set.

Paul Dean

This IS THE release of 2013 for me, Self Portrait was ahead of its time , As since almost every major artist ( inc John Lennon ” Rock n Roll + Paul McCartney ,Three albums of Covers ) have Recorded their fave ## songs from the past . Really Like Dylans Voice From this era also 1970/71 .


What’s wrong with a strangled frog? Actually, I agree… Self Portrait may not have had all the expected hallmarks of a Dylan album but it included a bunch of enjoyable, simply sung songs.


Lipstick on a pig

Cant fathom that Self Portrait merits any attention in the otherwise excellent bootleg series let alone a pricey Super deluxe edition. The two disc version would have to cruise in around $12.00 for me to even consider taking on a “completest” position


This is good news isn’t it? I love New Morning but think parts of Self Portrait are good, but that it feels more like a quickly thrown together rag bag of odds ‘n’ ends.

Looks like a nice set too. Complete Basement Tapes can’t be that far off? Can it? That’s what I’ve been saying since the first Vol 1-3 Bootleg set. :D