Bob Dylan / The Very Best Of

Bob Dylan TVBO packshot deluxe CD version
Another year, another Bob Dylan compilation

Sony are to issue a new Bob Dylan greatest hits compilation on 4 November 2013.

The Very Best Of Bob Dylan joins a long list of Bob collections including The Best Of Bob Dylan (1997), The Best Of Bob Dylan Volume 2 (2000), The Essential Bob Dylan (2000), The Best Of Bob Dylan (2005), Dylan (2007) and The Real Bob Dylan (2012).

It’s hard to imagine why the world needs another collection of Mr Zimmerman’s songs, but 2013 is another year, and so another greatest hits is apparently required. It will be TV advertised in the hope that this set ends up in the Christmas stockings of casual Dylan fans.

A two-CD deluxe edition is available, in addition to the standard one disc configuration. At the time of writing Amazon UK are selling the deluxe at a lower price than the single disc version – so you save money if you ‘go large’. Track listings below.

Bob Dylan: The Very Best Of (Deluxe Edition)

Bob Dylan: The Very Best Of (Standard Edition)

Track listing:

Disc: 1

  • 1. Like a Rolling Stone
  • 2. Blowin’ in the Wind
  • 3. Subterranean Homesick Blues
  • 4. Lay, Lady, Lay
  • 5. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
  • 6. I Want You
  • 7. All Along the Watchtower
  • 8. Tangled up in Blue
  • 9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  • 10. Hurricane
  • 11. Just Like a Woman
  • 12. Mr. Tambourine Man
  • 13. It Ain’t Me Babe
  • 14. The Times They Are a-Changin’
  • 15. Duquesne Whistle
  • 16. Baby, Stop Crying
  • 17. Make You Feel My Love
  • 18. Thunder on the Mountain

Disc: 2 [Deluxe Edition only]

  • 1. Maggie’s Farm
  • 2. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
  • 3. Girl from the North Country
  • 4. Positively 4th Street
  • 5. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
  • 6. Shelter from the Storm
  • 7. Mississippi
  • 8. (Quinn the Eskimo) The Mighty Quinn
  • 9. I Shall Be Released
  • 10. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
  • 11. Forever Young
  • 12. Gotta Serve Somebody
  • 13. Things Have Changed
  • 14. Jokerman
  • 15. Not Dark Yet
  • 16. Ring Them Bells
  • 17. Beyond Here Lies Nothin’

Bob Dylan: The Very Best Of (Deluxe Edition)

Bob Dylan: The Very Best Of (Standard Edition)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Worthless. And they even went to the trouble to have two versions? This may well end up in the stockings of Dylan fans, but they#ll be mighty disappointed it’s not the wife in there. –lol–

Come on, this is just pointless, there are already far too many “hits” packages out there. As far as “hits” go Dylan really hasn’t even had very many….. Great he is, but “hits”?

Luke W

The artwork is horribly generic, it’s just a photo with a rather half hearted photoshop halftone effect over the top with a suitably bland Helvetica or some substitute font. Poor even by the usual stretch of these kinda compilations. The 2007 Dylan set was a lot smarter I thought.