Bon Jovi / “New Jersey”: anniversary deluxe editions on the way


Bon Jovi are working on an extensive 30th anniversary reissue campaign programme which launches this July when their 1988 album New Jersey is re-released across two different physical formats, including a 2CD+DVD ‘super deluxe’ set.

The album was originally conceived as a double-LP with the working title Sons Of Beaches, although that plan was eventually abandoned and Mercury Records chose to issue the familiar 12-track version retitled as New Jersey

As well as a remastered New Jersey, the forthcoming two-CD deluxe and 2CD+DVD editions both feature the 13 Sons Of Beaches demos which have been remixed exclusively for this project. This adds up to over an hour of previously unreleased music. The first disc in both sets also appends a small selection of rare B-sides to the album proper.

2CD deluxe edition of “New Jersey”

The three-disc ‘super deluxe’ edition adds a DVD which features the behind-the-scenes documentary Access All Areas: A Rock & Roll Odyssey (receiving its North American debut on DVD). The film’s director, Wayne Isham, also directed all the music videos for the New Jersey singles and they all feature here, including two versions of Bad Medicine.

More 30th anniversary commemorative titles, including newly-compiled collections of studio and live recordings, will also be released this year. Until then, these deluxe editions of New Jersey are out on 1 July 2014.

2CD+DVD ‘Super Deluxe’

2CD Deluxe Edition

Track listings

BON JOVI:  New Jersey – 2CD Deluxe Edition

DISC 1:  NEW JERSEY (original album, remastered) + bonus tracks

  1.  Lay Your Hands On Me
  2. Bad Medicine
  3. Born To Be My Baby
  4. Living In Sin
  5. Blood On Blood
  6. Homebound Train
  7. Wild Is The Wind
  8. Ride Cowboy Ride
  9. Stick To Your Guns
  10. I’ll Be There For You
  11. 99 In The Shade
  12. Love For Sale

Bonus Tracks:

  1. The Boys Are Back In Town (Cover of the Thin Lizzy classic; previously released on Stairway To Heaven/Highway To Hell compilation; released in the U.K. as a 12” single B-side)
  2. Love Is War (B-side from Living In Sin single)
  3. Born To Be My Baby (Acoustic Version; previously released as a b-side in Japan)


(** All tracks on DISC 2 are previously unreleased)

  1. Homebound Train
  2. Judgment Day
  3. Full Moon High
  4. Growin’ Up The Hard Way
  5. Let’s Make It Baby
  6. Love Hurts
  7. Backdoor To Heaven
  8. Now And Forever
  9. Wild Is The Wind
  10. Stick To Your Guns
  11. House Of Fire
  12. Does Anybody Really Fall In Love Anymore?
  13. Diamond Ring

BON JOVI:  New Jersey – 2CD+DVD ‘Super Deluxe Edition’

DISC 1:  NEW JERSEY (original album, remastered) + bonus tracks




Directed by Wayne Isham. The original 1990 88-minute documentary of the band’s epic 16-month world tour in support of the NEW JERSEY album; includes rare backstage, on-the-road, and live concert footage. (First time released in the U.S. on DVD)

  1.  MUSIC VIDEOS From the NEW JERSEY album (All directed by Wayne Isham)
    • Bad Medicine (1st Version)
    • Born To Be My Baby
    • I’ll Be There For You
    • Lay Your Hands On Me
    • Living In Sin
    • Blood On Blood
    • Bad Medicine (2nd Version)

Original audio produced by Bruce Fairbairn; engineered and mixed by Bob Rock

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This was nice even though they did leave off this stuff:

Lay Your Hands On Me – Radio Edit
Bad Medicine – radio edit (3:52 version)
Lay Your Hands On Me – Live B-Side
Bad Medicine – Live B-Side
I’ll Be There For You – Live B-Side
Living In Sin – Live B-Side
Blood On Blood – Live B-Side
Tokyo Road – Live B-Side
Runaway – Live B-Side
Wild In The Streets – Live B-Side
You Give Love A Bad Name – Live B-Side
Livin’ On A Prayer – Live B-Side

Rica Lottmann

Hi, what stores can I find the super deluxe edition of New Jersey when it comes out on July 1st. I am trying to avoid shipping costs. Thanks so much!

Warren Mason

“House of Fie” is apparently Bon Jovi’s demo of the Alice Cooper hit written by Desmond Child.


£26 on amazon uk now , still a bit on the high side but I’ve got to have it

Tim H

How much?!?…if the prices don’t come down to the Simply Red ballpark, we’ll be seeing the same type of fiasco as we did with Cyndi Lauper….all we’ll need to match it are enclosed instructions from JBJ on how he managed to maintain his mane of hair….


Wow, big prices when compared to the Simply Red packages posted a couple of days ago. More than 4four times the price on one set for one less disc.


Never mind that. When do we get ‘Bon Jovi’ and ‘7800 Fahrenheit’ as deluxe editions? They got them in Japan years ago!