Chic / “Up All Night” 2CD hits set


Although the recent reissue of Nile Rodgers/ Chic box set Savoir Faire, was very welcome, it is likely that the majority of people will be quite content with the contents of Up All Night. This new two-CD ‘best of’ contains all the expected hits and more.

It repeats some of the selections from Savoir Faire, including Carly Simon’s Why in its twelve-inch configuration and the extended version of Debbie Harry’s Backfired, and amongst others, loses the ‘Dimitri from Paris’ remixes and unreleased Johnny Mathis tracks. Diana Ross’s Upside Down is present and correct, but in its standard album form, not the ‘original chic mix’ found on the box.

In total, 25 tracks from Chic and the many artists they produced. Up All Night is released on 1 July 2013, so get those glitterballs ready.

Track listing:

Disc: 1

  • 1. Le Freak – Chic
  • 2. He’s The Greatest Dancer – Sister Sledge
  • 3. Upside Down – Album Version – Diana Ross
  • 4. Everybody Dance (12″ Version) – Chic
  • 5. We Are Family – Sister Sledge
  • 6. Spacer (12″ Version) – Sheila & B. Devotion
  • 7. I Want Your Love – Chic
  • 8. Lost In Music – Sister Sledge
  • 9. Saturday – Norma Jean Wright
  • 10. Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) – Chic
  • 11. Got To Love Somebody – Sister Sledge
  • 12. My Feet Keep Dancing – Chic

Disc: 2

  • 1. Good Times – Chic
  • 2. I’m Coming Out – Diana Ross
  • 3. Why (12″ Version) – Carly Simon
  • 4. My Forbidden Lover (12″ Version) – Chic
  • 5. Thinking Of You – Sister Sledge
  • 6. I Love My Lady – Johnny Mathis
  • 7. Backfired (12′ Remix) – Debbie Harry
  • 8. Soup For One – Chic
  • 9. High Society (12″ Version) – Norma Jean Wright
  • 10. Reach Your Peak (12″ Version) – Sister Sledge
  • 11. Your Love Is Good (Usa 12″ Version) – Sheila
  • 12. My Old Piano – Diana Ross
  • 13. Chic Cheer – Chic

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] ways of getting these songs, of course, (many of them – in different form – are on the recent Up All Night set) but for the people out their still buying vinyl, this no filler, all killer, selection is […]

Patric Nilsson

The 4 disc box is really the most comprehensive release. The other compilation CD’s are seriously lacking, both in certain omitted, significant tracks, as well as giving a fair view of the range of CHIC. For instance the above CD doesn’t even include any tracks from the “super” CHIC album “Real People”, the massively funky album “Take It Off”, and for some reason??? they have included the album version of Diana Ross’ “Upside Down” and not the original CHIC mix of that song a very bad decision. The cover art is particularly horrible. CHIC are chic, so why not put a previously unseen photo of them on the cover, that would be much better. But I guess Rhino wanted to cash in on the current Daft Punk “Get Lucky” craze. But I guess this is a good compilation for CHIC novices.


It’ll be nice to have all the Chic albums properly remastered with bonus tracks.


I absolutely love Chic, but there is starting to become a glut of compilations on the market – the Definitive Groove Collection, the box set, Savoir Faire, the Japanese 2-disc comp “Nile Rodgers” Everybody Dance” and the 2-disc comp “Magnifique” a few years ago.