Dio / Dream Evil deluxe edition

Dio / Dream Evil deluxe edition

Dio‘s fourth album, 1987’s Dream Evil will be issued by Universal as a 2CD deluxe edition on 4 March 2013. Guitarist Craig Goldy featured on this album, but left the band soon afterwards. He would return years later for Magica (2000) and Master Of The Moon (2004).

This deluxe edition comes with a bonus disc that features most the band’s live performance at the 1987 Monsters Of Rock Donnington gig.

Dream Evil deluxe edition track listing:

Disc: 1

  • 1. Night People
  • 2. Dream Evil
  • 3. Sunset Superman
  • 4. All The Fools Sailed Away
  • 5. Naked In The Rain
  • 6. Overlove
  • 7. I Could Have Been A Dreamer
  • 8. Faces In The Window
  • 9. When A Woman Cries

Disc: 2

  • 1. Hide In The Rainbow (Dio EP)
  • 2. I Could Have Been A Dreamer (single edit)

Donnington 22/8/87

  • 3. Dream Evil
  • 4. Neon Nights
  • 5. Naked In The Rain
  • 6. Rock And Roll Children
  • 7. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll
  • 8. The Last In Line
  • 9. Children Of The Sea
  • 10. Holy Diver
  • 11. Heaven And Hell
  • 12. Man Of The Silver Mountain
  • 13. All The Fools Sailed Away
  • 14. The Last In Line (reprise)
  • 15. Rainbow In The Dark

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Dio‘s fourth album, 1987′s Dream Evil is issued this week as a 2CD deluxe edition that features most the band’s live performance at the 1987 Monsters Of Rock Donnington gig on the bonus disc. More here. […]


I bought the Deluxe Editions of the first three Dio albums that were released last year, and they’re great. Even as a big fan, on the second discs of those reissues I now have more live versions of tracks from those albums, and of songs from Ronnie James Dio’s previous bands (Rainbow and Black Sabbath) than I will ever need. Those three classic albums mark the peak of my (and I suspect many fans’) interest in the band. I will most likely buy this Dream Evil reissue for the studio album but the second disc is, frankly, a complete stitch-up. “Hide In The Rainbow” was on the second disc of the “Sacred Heart” reissue last year, and the complete Donington 1987 live set was released in 2010 in a 2-disc set with the (much better) Donington 1983 live set. So there’s really nothing worth having on that second disc. Unless there’s any more unreleased studio material in the archives, with multiple live albums and compilations, as well as three (!) bands of ex-members with varying degrees of validity “keeping Dio’s legacy alive”, perhaps enough is enough..?

Marcus Sigismund

Not his best record, but it was the first I ever heard (and bought) of him. So it has a special place in my heart and I’m glad it gets this treatment.