George Benson / Give Me The Night


George Benson‘s 1980 album Give Me The Night will be reissued by Music On Vinyl next month.

The Quincy Jones produced record spawned a transatlantic top ten hit single with the irresistible title track, and Love X Love repeated the feat in the UK reaching number ten.

The album would go on to win a number of Grammy awards including Best Male R&B Vocal Performance for Benson.

This reissue sees the record pressed on 180g vinyl with original insert included. It is released on 1 December 2014.

Track listing

1. Love X Love
2. Off Broadway
3. Moody’s Mood
4. Give Me The Night
5. What’s On Your Mind
6. Dinorah, Dinorah
7. Love Dance
8. Star Of A Story (X)
9. Midnight Love Affair
10. Turn Out The Lamplight

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
CJ Feeneh

Quincy Jones was hitting his commercial peak as a producer at this time. I’m sure the master tapes for his work 1979 – 85 must be prized possessions of the record companies, and 5.1 must be a realistic possibility for many of his albums. I’d quite like to here The Dude in 5.1.


I would love to see Audio Fidelity reissue this on SACD. I wonder if a multi-channel mix was ever done?

Paul H

Fabulous album. Needs a super deluxe edition.