Pet Shop Boys / Format / B-sides compilation coming soon

Pet Shop Boys / Format / B-side compilation coming soonPet Shop Boys will release a brand new B-sides compilation on 6 February. Entitled Format, the release collects tracks from 1996-2009 and follows on from the 1995 release Alternative which collected the duo’s b-sides from 1985 to 1994.

Pet Shop Boys are one of the dwindling number of acts who still support the CD single as a format, often releasing one CD with a new b-side and one with remixes and/or more bonus tracks. Hence the subtitle “B-sides and bonus tracks” on this release.

Even if you own all the CD singles, you might still be tempted, since all tracks have been remastered, and as usual the whole package has been expertly designed by Farrow. The CD booklet also features an interview with Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe by Jon Savage.

Format is available on CD and download.

Full track listing below. Format can be pre-ordered here.


  • 1 The truck driver and his mate
  • 2 Hit and miss
  • 3 In the night (1995)
  • 4 Betrayed
  • 5 Discoteca (New Version)
  • 6 How I learned to hate rock ‘n’ roll
  • 7 The calm before the storm
  • 8 Confidential (Demo for Tina)
  • 9 The boy who couldn’t keep his clothes on
  • 10 Delusions of grandeur
  • 11 The view from your balcony
  • 12 Disco potential
  • 13 Silver age
  • 14 Screaming
  • 15 The ghost of myself
  • 16 Casting a shadow
  • 17 Lies
  • 18 Sexy Northerner


  • 1 Always
  • 2 Nightlife
  • 3 Searching for the face of Jesus
  • 4 Between two islands
  • 5 Friendly fire
  • 6 We’re the Pet Shop Boys
  • 7 Transparent
  • 8 I didn’t get where I am today
  • 9 The Resurrectionist
  • 10 Girls don’t cry
  • 11 In private (7-inch mix): Pet Shop Boys with Elton John
  • 12 Blue on blue
  • 13 No time for tears (7-inch mix)
  • 14 Bright young things
  • 15 Party song
  • 16 We’re all criminals now
  • 17 Gin and Jag
  • 18 After the event
  • 19 The former enfant terrible
  • 20 Up and down

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Shop Boys will release double-CD b-sides compilation on February 6th, 2012, on Parlophone. Entitled Format, it celebrates the duo’s prolific song-writing and recording by collecting 38 newly […]

Tim Larkham

Just a slight correction to your post in that six of the tracks on the second disc have never been commercially available on CD in the UK. Nightlife was released as the extra track on the Home And Dry DVD single (remember them?) and Friendly Fire on the DVD single of I Get Along. Girls Don’t Cry appeared on both the DVD and 7” single of I’m With Stupid. Blue On Blue and No Time For Tears appeared on the DVD single of Minimal. We’re All Criminals Now was only available digitally via iTunes.

Unfortunately, Format is a bit of a missed opportunity in that the 7” mix of Fugitive (from the non-UK Beautiful People single) is not included. Also missing are the additional tracks from the Christmas E.P. and Together single. Although given the years covered in the title the b-sides/extra tracks from Together may be held over until their next B-side compilation in approximately 2025! Also, both tracks from the Record Store Day single of Love Life could have been included but again that was released in 2010 so most probably out of scope of this release.

2012 looks to be a good year for PSB fans with the forthcoming ballet dates in March and a new studio album due sometime this year, although I’ve no word on producer(s) or song titles.

Oh, and by the way, great site!


Is there a corresponding Greatest Hits for that period?