Peter Gabriel / New Blood & New Blood Live in London / News

Peter Gabriel / New Blood / New Blood Live In London / News
New Blood album cover

Peter Gabriel returns this autumn with both a new studio album and live album.

New Blood

Like last year’s Scratch My Back covers album, New Blood is a studio recording that sees Gabriel ‘re-imagining’ tracks with arrangements that dispense with guitars and drums and make heavy use of a 46-piece orchestra. Unlike Scratch My Back, New Blood uses Gabriel’s own songs as inspiration, with the track listing including classics such as Don’t Give Up, Mercy Street and Digging In The Dirt.

In addition to the standard single-disc & digital download, New Blood will also be available as a special edition 2-CD version which will include the standard album plus a disc of instrumental versions with an added bonus track. In addition, there is a heavyweight vinyl version that comes with a bonus 7″ featuring A Quiet Moment and Solsbury Hill. CD formats and download are due on 24 October 2011. (The vinyl will be available from November 7th). See below for full track listing.

New Blood Live In London

[singlepic id=334 w=150 h=150 float=right]New Blood Live In London is a 22-track live album with performances taken from a two date residency at London’s Hammersmith Apollo in March this year. The songs are performed with the New Blood Orchestra and are effectively the debut live performances of the ‘re-imaginings’ found on the forthcoming studio album New Blood (all the tracks on New Blood are included on the live album).

New Blood Live In London will capture all the vibrancy of the gigs with their huge onstage screens with graphics and animation. The concerts were filmed in using 3D cameras and directed by Blue Leach.

New Blood Live In London is available on DVD, 2D Blu-ray, and 3D Blu-ray. There is also the option of a 3D Blu-ray Triple Pack which contains the 3D Blu-ray, 2D Blu-ray and DVD. Due for release on 24th October 2011. See below for full track listing.

New Blood Deluxe Edition

[singlepic id=335 w=150 h=150 float=right]Just when you thought your choices were straightforward, a deluxe edition of New Blood will also be released which features both the New Blood Live In London DVD and Blu-ray and the New Blood studio album housed in a 60-page hardback photobook containing over 200 photos. In addition, exclusive to this deluxe edition is Live Blood, a CD with a selection of highlights from the New Blood Live in London concerts. Therefore, this is a four disc deluxe edition. It does not include the instrumental bonus disc included with the 2CD special edition of the New Blood studio album.  This deluxe edition will also be released on 24th October 2011.

New Blood track listing

  • 01. The Rhythm of the Heat
  • 02. Downside Up (ft. Melanie Gabriel)
  • 03. San Jacinto
  • 04. Intruder
  • 05. Wallflower
  • 06. In Your Eyes
  • 07. Mercy Street
  • 08. Red Rain
  • 09. Darkness
  • 10. Don’t Give Up (ft. Ane Brun)
  • 11. Digging in the Dirt
  • 12. The Nest that Sailed the Sky
  • 13. A Quiet Moment
  • 14. Solsbury Hill (bonus track)

New Blood Live In London DVD/Blu-ray tracklisting

  • 01. Intruder
  • 02. Wallflower
  • 03. The Boy in the Bubble
  • 04. Apres Moi
  • 05. The Drop
  • 06. Washing of the Water
  • 07. The Book of Love
  • 08. Darkness
  • 09. The Power of the Heart
  • 10. Biko
  • 11. San Jacinto
  • 12. Digging in the Dirt
  • 13. Signal to Noise
  • 14. Downside Up
  • 15. Mercy Street
  • 16. The Rhythm of the Heat
  • 17. Blood of Eden
  • 18. Red Rain
  • 19. Solsbury Hill
  • 20. In Your Eyes
  • 21. Don’t Give Up
  • 22. The Nest that Sailed the Sky


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Marvelous, what a webpage it is! This website presents
useful inforemation to us, keepp it up.

[…] which combines New Blood and New Blood Live in London (for detailed analysis of formats click here). A further bonus track at the end of the instrumental disc is a vocal version of Blood of Eden. […]


i must say there’s a sense of “lost opportunity” with New Blood, unless i am quite mistaken. wasn’t the idea (i am sure there were comments from him at the time) of “Scratch My Back” for the artists that Peter covered to return the favour and cover one of his songs for a follow on album? as he appears to be retired in all but name I suppose there was no chance of Bowie doing one, but you never know it may have amused him to.