R.E.M. / Green deluxe edition

R.E.M. / Green 25th Anniversary Edition 2CD Deluxe

R.E.M.‘s first album for Warner Bros. – 1988’s Green – is to be reissued on 13 May as a two-CD deluxe edition, pairing a remastered version of the album with 21 tracks from a Nov ’89 concert in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Like previous deluxe editions, this set will come packaged in a small clam-shell style box with some postcards. A vinyl version will also be issued at the same time.

A special EP – Live in Greensboro – is also being issued (on CD) for Record Store Day on 20 April. This EP contains five more tracks from the same gig, and comes with a patch which we are assured are original from the era, rather than reproductions. 

Green was last reissued in 2005 when Warners released a CD+DVD-A edition which contained a hi-res surround sound version of the album (on the DVD-A), a 23 minute documentary and some promo videos. These excellent features are ignored for this new 25th anniversary ‘deluxe’ edition.

Green: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition:

Disc 1: Original album:

  • 1. Pop Song 89
  • 2. Get Up
  • 3. You Are the Everything
  • 4. Stand
  • 5. World Leader Pretend
  • 6. The Wrong Child
  • 7. Orange Crush
  • 8. Turn You Inside Out
  • 9. Hairshirt
  • 10 I Remember California
  • 11 Untitled

Disc 2: Live in Greensboro, 1989:

  • 1. Stand
  • 2. The One I Love
  • 3. Turn You Inside Out
  • 4. Belong
  • 5. Exhuming McCarthy
  • 6. Good Advices
  • 7. Orange Crush
  • 8. Cuyahoga
  • 9. These Days
  • 10 World Leader Pretend
  • 11 I Believe
  • 12 Get Up
  • 13 Life and How to Live It
  • 14 Its the End of the World as We Know It (and I Feel Fine)
  • 15 Pop Song 89
  • 16 Fall on Me
  • 17 You Are the Everything
  • 18 Begin the Begin
  • 19 Low
  • 20 Finest Worksong
  • 21 Perfect Circle

Live in Greensboro / Record Store Day EP

  • 1. So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)
  • 2. Feeling Gravitys Pull
  • 3. Strange
  • 4. King of Birds
  • 5. I Remember California

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Above, is how Rhino’s reissue of R.E.M.‘s 1988 album Green will look when it is released on 13 May. A bonus disc of live material is included as well as some postcards. More details and track listings here. […]

Pete Fletcher

The song”where are we now……” is actually a cover of Dark Globe.I’m surprised that a collection of B sides etc hasn’t been released.


Well they could have made it a three Cd set, put the tracks from the Record Day release on it together with relevant B-sides and some demos.


Is this a new remaster from the previous one? The DVD-A that came out a few years ago sounded great. Not sure how they will improve on it.
I’ll buy it just for the live stuff no doubt.


This is my favorite REM album. The extra tracks on the Record Store Day EP are a cool idea, but hopefully they won’t be too hard to get… supposedly the EP is limited to 2500 copies. :(

Also, including b-sides from the era would have been nice. Hopefully the price for this set will be reasonable, as the bonus content is a bit thin.


Yeah I have a great version of Suicide’s Ghost Rider on the b side of the Orange Crush 12″ I think.


The other song on the b side…Oh where Are We Now (maybe called something like this?) is also fabtastic

Pete Fletcher

The song”where are we now……” is actually a cover of Dark Globe.I’m surprised that a collection of B sides etc hasn’t been released

Phil Wilson

Does indeed look great. I started with Out of Time but soon picked this up along with Document once I got into R.E.M. Excellent selection of live tracks on the bonus CD, from the gig that I think was used on the live CD singles that were issued for the Out Of Time singles?? Just need to find someone in the US who can pick up one of the limited edition record day singles for me.


Now you’re talking. This for me was their last great album, everything up to and including this, I loved. Everything after seemed a bit dull….any news on the vinyl?