Rainbow / A Light in the Black: career spanning 5CD+DVD box


Next month sees the releases of A Light in the Black 1975-1984, a six-disc Rainbow extravaganza that covers the entire Polydor career of the Ritchie Blackmore led British rock band.

This set will feature rare and unheard tracks as well as fan favourites and a DVD features the band in concert at Monsters of Rock in 1980.

A Light in the Black comes in a book-style package and has been compiled by Blackmore expert Andy Francis, who also contributes extensive notes. The 60-page booklet also contains archive photos, rare sleeve scans and a selected single discography. All the audio has been remastered by Andy Pearce.

A Light in the Black is released on 26 January 2015


Track listing

Disc: 1 – 1975-1976
1. Black Sheep Of The Family
2. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
3. Snake Charmer
4. The Temple Of The King
5. Tarot Woman (Rough Mix)
6. Stargazer (Rough Mix)
7. Run With The Wolf (Rough Mix)
8. Mistreated (Live In Osaka, Japan / 1976)
9. Purple Haze / White Christmas / Lazy / Man On The Silver Mountain / Blues / Starstruck (Live In Osaka, Japan / 1976)

Disc: 2 – 1977-1978
1. Sensitive To Light (Rough Mix)
2. The Shed
3. Rainbow Eyes (Rough Mix)
4. Jesus, Joy Of Man’s Desiring (Bob Daisley Rehearsal Tape)
5. Long Live Rock N Roll (LA Rehearsal / 1977)
6. Do You Close Your Eyes (Bob Daisley Rehearsal Tape)
7. Still I’m Sad (With organ intro / Bob Daisley Rehearsal Tape)
8. Gates Of Babylon
9. Catch The Rainbow (Live / 1976 / With Applause)
10. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll (Live In Munich, Germany / 1977)
11. LA Connection (Live In Munich, Germany / 1977)

Disc: 3 – 1979 – 1980
1. Eyes Of The World (Instrumental Outtake)
2. Is not A Lot Of Love In The Heart Of Me
3. Lost In Hollywood
4. Danger Zone
5. Since You’ve Been Gone (Album Version)
6. Bad Girl
7. Over The Rainbow / Eyes Of The World (King Biscuit Flower Hour radio broadcast / Live At Calderone, New York / 1979)
8. Love’s No Friend (King Biscuit Flower Hour radio broadcast / Live At Calderone, New York / 1979)
9. Ode To Joy (King Biscuit Flower Hour radio broadcast / Live At Calderone, New York / 1979)
10. All Night Long (Single Remix Version)
11. White Home
12. Stargazer (Live At Donnington / 1980)

Disk: 4 – 1981 – 1982
1. Midtown Tunnel Vision
2. I Surrender (Album Version)
3. Magic
4. Perhaps the time of nearest
5. Jealous Lover
6. Spotlight Kid (Live At Hammersmith Odeon, London / 1981)
7. Rule Britannia / Fire (Live At Hammersmith Odeon, London / 1981)
8. Death Alley Driver
9. Bring On The Night (Dream Chaser)
10. Stone Cold (Album Version)
11. Power (Live In San Antonio, Tx / 1982)
12. Miss Mistreated (Live In San Antonio, Tx / 1982)
13. Tearin ‘Out My Heart (Live In San Antonio, Tx / 1982)

Disk: 5 – 1983 – 1984
1. Can not Let You Go (Album Version)
2. Desperate Heart (Album Version)
3. Anybody There (Outtake / Polar Mix)
4. Drinking With The Devil (Outtake / Different Guitar Solo)
5. Make Your Move
6. Snowman
7. Street Of Dreams (Album Version)
8. Stranded (Live At St. David’s Hall, Cardiff / 1983 / With Applause)
9. Power (Live In Cardiff / 1984)
10. Fire Dance (Live In Cardiff / 1984)
11. Fool For The Night (Live At The Budokan Tokyo / 1984)
12. Difficult To Cure (Live At The Budokan Tokyo)
13. Smoke On The Water (Live At The Budokan Tokyo / 1984)

Disc: 6 – DVD Monsters Of Rock Festival, Castle Donington, 16th August 1980
1. All Night Long (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
2. Catch The Rainbow (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
3. Eyes Of The World (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
4. Lost In Hollywood (Guitar Solo / Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
5. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
6. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980 / Pt. 1)
7. Kill The King (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980)
8. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll (Live At Monsters Of Rock, Donington Park, Uk / 1980 / Pt. 2)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Still no US release??

Sean Wylie

Any word on USA release?

Steve conway

What an absolute missed opportunity this boxset is.i agree with Steven it sounds pretty lame – I don’t think I will be shelling out for this which is a shame because if it was as good as the purple boxset I surely would of – disappointed.

[…] own the Fanclub box set. Rock fans can enjoy the six-disc Rainbow classics/rarities set A Light In The Black, while the indie-pop box is ticked with a reissue of The Primitive‘s third studio album […]

Steven Roberts

I’ll say it again, because it’s worth repeating – God AWFUL track selection.

This should’ve been all live material, perhaps one disc from each tour, or at the very least one disc featuring each singer.

Really, who at the record company thinks the current track listing is a good idea !?!


Thanks for updating the spelling of Donington on the article, Paul.

It’s a pet hate of mine to see it wrongly spelled, something which bands/PR people do every year when announcing they are playing there.

This is on my Amazon Wish List at the moment but unless the price drops dramatically, I won’t be buying it because I just don’t think it’s good value for money.

Jon Shaw

Hmm. The Rainbow back catalogue has been treated pretty poorly over the years. The so called deluxe editions with mainly just ‘rough mixes’ which aren’t all that different to the finished versions, the recent albums box set which is missing Finyl Vinyl (and Stranger In Us All), etc. It seems like the record company don’t know what to do with it. There isn’t a great deal to get excited over here.

Most Rainbow fans have what they want in terms of the studio albums so it would have better to tap into live stuff from the various incarnations. The band has been very thoroughly bootlegged and a more fan friendly set could easily have been created from that rather than rehashing the same well known version for the umpteenth time. Here’s hoping they’ve made a good job on the Donington footage otherwise this set really is a disappointment.

Steven Roberts

Honestly, this is beyond lame. As a fan with all the albums, I don’t want to hear ‘fan favourites’ for the umpteenth time – I want the rare and unreleased stuff.

I want the complete Monsters of Rock gig (audio, if the video no longer exists). And/or the complete Calderone, New York show (or at least as much as King Biscuit recorded).

What a terrible wasted opportunity.



uuuugh, big downer! The Monsters of Rock show without Stargazer?!?


oops, sorry – I discovered it on disc 3


Not much on the DVD, surely they could have filled it out a bit more.

Oh and by the way, it’s spelt ‘Donington’.


AWESOME!!!! Can’t wait. Will this be released in the US?