Rainbow / Polydor Years: vinyl box

Rainbow‘s seven studio albums and one live album (On Stage) will be collected in The Polydor Years an 8LP vinyl box set.

The albums included are Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, Rising, Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll, Down To Earth, Difficult To Cure, Straight Between The Eyes, Bent Out Of Shape, Stranger In Us All and On Stage. All are all pressed on 180g vinyl.

The Polydor Years will be released on 24 November 2014 and a week or two later in some territories.



Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow

Side One
1. Man On The Silver Mountain
2. Self Portrait
3. Black Sheep Of The Family
4. Catch The Rainbow

Side Two
1. Snake Charmer
2. The Temple Of The King
3. If You Don’t Like Rock ‘n’ Roll
4. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
5. Still I’m Sad


Side One
1. Tarot Woman
2. Run With The Wolf
3. Starstruck
4. Do You Close Your Eyes

Side Two
1. Stargazer
2. A Light In The Black

On Stage

Side One
1. Kill The King
2. Medley: Man On The Silver Mountain/Blues/Starstruck

Side Two
1. Catch The Rainbow

Side Three
1. Mistreated

Side Four
1. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
2. Still I’m Sad

Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll

Side One
1. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Lady Of The Lake
3. LA Connection
4. Gates Of Babylon

Side Two
1. Kill The King
2. The Shed (subtle)
3. Sensitive To Light
4. Rainbow Eyes

Down To Earth

Side One
1. All Night Long
2. Eyes Of The World
3. No Time To Lose
4. Makin’ Love

Side Two
1. Since You Been Gone
2. Love’s No Friend
3. Danger Zone
4. Lost In Hollywood

Difficult To Cure

Side One
1. I Surrender
2. Spotlight Kid
3. No Release
4. Magic
5. Vielleicht Das Nächster Zeit (Maybe Next Time)

Side Two
1. Can’t Happen Here
2. Freedom Fighter
3. Midtown Tunnel Vision
4. Difficult To Cure

Straight Between The Eyes

Side One
1. Death Alley Driver
2. Stone Cold
3. Bring On The Night (Dream Chaser)
4. Tite Squeeze
5. Tearin’ Out My Heart

Side Two
1. Power
2. Miss Mistreated
3. Rock Fever
4. Eyes Of Fire

Bent Out Of Shape

Side One
1. Stranded
2. Can’t Let You Go
3. Fool For The Night
4. Fire Dance
5. Anybody There

Side Two
1. Desperate Heart
2. Street Of Dreams
3. Drinking With The Devil
4. Snowman
5. Make Your Move

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] to Super Deluxe Edition, Darren Keeler and metal-district.de for the […]

Martin Dudley

Hey Chudbeagle-

Fellow Rainbow nut here but clearly less well-informed than you! What rarities will be on the 4x CD/1x DVD set? And do you know if/think there will ever be DE versions of the first album or the JLT-era albums?

Cheers, Martin.


the best price at amazon.it (release Dec2nd)


Rainbow nut here.

The b-sides are already on comps and the Deluxe remasters. “Weiss Heim” and “Jealous Lover” are both on Anthology 1975-1984 which came out in 2009. “Bad Girl” is also on the Down To Earth Deluxe along with “Weiss Heim”.

Final Vinyl could’ve been included but it’s just a posthumous release anyway and was remastered in 1999.

This box is due on CD on Dec. 9 in the UK and it’s just the original albums-no bonus tracks.

The 4 CD/1 DVD career-spanning box with rarities has been turned into Universal and isolated for Jan or Feb but I’d expect it to be in the spring.

Also, the box is called the Polydor years, thus Stranger In Us All (a BMG/Arista release) is obviously absent.

Steven Roberts

Hmmm…no Final Vinyl, no Stranger on Us All…potentially interesting box set, but I think I’ll wait for the inevitable SDE deal alert :)


I’m pretty sure Stranger In Us All is not included.


No Finyl Vinvl? Got a two or three good B-sides on it that aren’t on any of these albums – particularly Weiss Heim and Jealous Lover.