Rod Stewart / Live box packaging


Here’s a packaging shot of Rod Stewart‘s forthcoming set Live 1976-1998: Tonight’s The Night.

As can be seen, Rhino are opting for the ‘fatbox’ CD container within a slipcase. The sticker on the front reminds fans that this four-CD anthology contains all previously unreleased tracks.


Live 1976 – 1998: Tonight’s The Night is out on 18 March 2014.

Track Listing

Disc One: 1976

  • 1. “Three Time Loser”
  • 2. “You Wear It Well”
  • 3. “Big Bayou”
  • 4. “Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright)”
  • 5. “The Wild Side Of Life”
  • 6. “Sweet Little Rock ‘n Roller”
  • 7. “I Don’t Want To Talk About It”
  • 8. “The Killing Of Georgie (Part I And II)”
  • 9. “Maggie May”
  • 10. “Angel”
  • 11. “Get Back”
  • 12. “(I Know) I’m Losing You”
  • 13. “This Old Heart Of Mine”

Disc Two: 1976-1981

  • 1. “Sailing”
  • 2. “Stay With Me”
  • 3. “Born Loose”
  • 4. “(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right”
  • 5. “I Just Want To Make Love To You”
  • 6. “Blondes (Have More Fun)”
  • 7. Medley: “(I Know) I’m Losing You/It’s All Over Now/Standin’ In The Shadows Of Love/Layla”
  • 8. Medley: “Twistin’ The Night Away/Every Picture Tells A Story”
  • 9. “She Won’t Dance With Me”
  • 10. “Passion”
  • 11. “Gi’ Me Wings”
  • 12. “Hot Legs” – With Tina Turner

Disc Three: 1984-1989

  • 1. “Tonight I’m Yours (Don’t Hurt Me)”
  • 2. “You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)”
  • 3. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”
  • 4. “Hungry Heart”
  • 5. “Bad For You”
  • 6. “Some Guys Have All The Luck”
  • 7. “Rock Me Baby”
  • 8. “Infatuation”
  • 9. “I Ain’t Superstitious”
  • 10. “Every Picture Tells A Story”
  • 11. “Lost In You”
  • 12. “Forever Young”
  • 13. “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?”
  • 14. “Crazy About Her”
  • 15. “Try A Little Tenderness”
  • 16. “You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)” (Reprise)

Disc Four: 1991-1998

  • 1. “Downtown Train”
  • 2. “This Old Heart Of Mine”
  • 3. “Stay With Me”
  • 4. “Sweet Soul Music”
  • 5. “Mandolin Wind”
  • 6. “Highgate Shuffle”
  • 7. “Baby Jane”
  • 8. “Baby Please Don’t Go”
  • 9. “Cut Across Shorty”
  • 10. “(Find A) Reason To Believe”
  • 11. “Handbags & Gladrags”
  • 12. “Having A Party”
  • 13. “People Get Ready”
  • 14. “Have I Told You Lately”
  • 15. Medley: “Twistin’ The Night Away/Chain Gang”
  • 16. “Cigarettes And Alcohol”
  • 17. “Rocks”

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Chris S

While the additional stuff might be interesting, all I really want is the music. I would gladly take a extra disk of music over a boatload of trivial items.


How sad! And what a joke! There ought to be options! Besides! Hopefully things will get re-released in the future!


Absolutely! The 4iaF’s are inexpensive, and require minimal storage space too!!


Seth nailed it!

Seth Hollander

The Four-in-a-Fatbox is a new way forward for “box sets”. It looks like Rhino is packaging box set amounts of audio content in a bare bones fashion. They are also pricing the sets low! Unlike these Super Deluxe box treatments that ask a high price for a product that a lot of money went into, these 4iaF sets are cheap in and cheap out.
The Otis Redding and Aretha Franklin sets that just came out are also in the 4iaF style. I think Rhino was having a hard time greenlighting their more traditional box set releases these last couple of years. Their Box set output definately reduced. Then the low-budget “complete album collection” boxes started. Now another low-budget format is on Rhino’s menu.
Not every Super Deluxe box set proposal will be deemed profitable by a marketing department. The 4iaF allows another way to get proposed box sets made. This will probably mean that we sometimes are only offered 4iaF sets from artists we would prefer a SD box from, but the likely alternative is no box at all.
I dream of a Rhino US release of the Deep Purple Made In Japan 40th in this format! I want the 4 discs, but not the extras and the price.


This appears to be a fine cool great release but I’ve never consider c.d. sets released in the “fatbox” to be “box sets” per se for whatever that is worth. I guess I feel that to be misleading truth be told.