The Best of Mike Oldfield 1992-2003


Rhino will release The Best of Mike Oldfield later this month, a new two-disc collection that takes in a number of rarities, including b-sides and remixes.

The collection is drawn from Oldfield’s eight studio albums released on Warner Bros. Records between 1992 and 2003, a period that saw him revisit Tubular Bells three times

The inclusion of non-album versions, rare edits and radio mixes on the first CD will be welcomed by fans and disc two takes this a step further with various remixes, including The Orb’s “Orbular Bells” mix of Sentinel.

The Best of Mike Oldfield will be released on 27 April 2015.

THE BEST OF 1992-2003

Track Listing

Disc One: Singles

  1. “Sentinel” – Single Restructure
  2. “Tattoo” – Single Edit
  3. “The Bell” – Remix (MC Viv Stanshall)
  4. “Hibernaculum”
  5. “Let There Be Light”
  6. “The Voyager”
  7. “Women Of Ireland” – Lurker Edit
  8. “Man In The Rain”
  9. “Far Above The Clouds” – Timewriter’s Radio Mix
  10. “Cochise”
  11. “Out Of Mind”
  12. “Pacha Mama”
  13. “Sunlight Shining Though Cloud”
  14. “Amber Light”
  15. “To Be Free” – Single Remix
  16. “Thou Art In Heaven” – Radio Edit
  17. “Introduction 2003” – Single Remix
  18. “The Sailor’s Hornpipe 2003”

Disc Two: Rarities & Mixes

  1. “Early Stages”
  2. “Silent Night”
  3. “The Bell” – Remix (MC Billy Connolly)
  4. “The Spectral Army”
  5. “The Song Of The Boatmen”
  6. “Indian Lake”
  7. “Mike’s Reel”
  8. “Sentinel” – Orbular Bells Mix
  9. “Let There Be Light” – BT’s Pure Luminesence Remix
  10. “Women Of Ireland” – System 7 12” Mix
  11. “Far Above The Clouds” – Jam & Spoon Mix
  12. “To Be Free” – Soultronik Mix-tical Mix
  13. “Thou Art In Heaven” – Pumpin’ Dolls v Mighty Mike Club Mix (Radio Edit)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

It’s suddenly disappeared from amazon, and now shows as “currently unavailable”.

Tom of FIN

I go with Philip. Hopefully the cover art is not as embarrassingly sketchy in the product! That would look clumsy in the catalogue listings… Like a bootleg cover or even worse.

Jean Christophe DERRIEN

It’s scary but I think I have already all the tracks included…

Philip C.

Wow! What lousy cover art! I hope that’s just a quickie mock-up to go with the press release. If not… what a shame.


.. however I do agree with Eric that this is a refreshingly different approach to Mike Oldfield’s catalogue.


Hmmm. I’m no expert, but “Tubular X” (1998) seems conspicuous by its absence.

Personally, I already have it on “X-Files: The Album”, but I imagine it’s more uncommon than many of the listed tracks, particularly in the US where I’m not sure it was ever released.

However, I’m sure many fans could come up with suggestions that are even more esoteric…


Oh, suddenly this set looks very appealing now I’ve seen the tracklist. Otherwise, I thought it would be just another pointless collection, to go with the many other pointless collections that regurgitate the same material. This will actually stand as a great companion to the 1992-2003 boxset.