Weather Report / The Legendary Live Tapes 1978-1981 /4CD box

Weather Report: The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981

Next month, Sony’s Legacy Recordings will release The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981, a new Weather Report four-CD box set featuring previously unreleased live concert performances from the jazz-rock-funk ensemble.

The music in this new set have been sourced from never-before-heard soundboard tapes recorded by the band’s longtime mixing engineer Brian Risner, and bootleg recordings from the audience.

The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981 showcases the group’s classic line-up of Joe Zawinul (keyboards), Wayne Shorter (saxophone), Jaco Pastorius (electric bass), Peter Erskine (drums) and Robert Thomas, Jr. (Hand Drums).

This new set has been assembled and curated by Peter Erskine and the late Joe Zawinul’s son, Tony. Erskine also provides song-by-song descriptions of the performances in the booklet which includes extensive notes.

The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981 is released on 20 November 2015.

Buying notes: Amazon UK price should drop since Amazon Germany is currently £10 cheaper.



Weather Report: The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981

Disc 1

  • 1) 8:30
  • 2) Sightseeing
  • 3) Brown Street
  • 4) The Orphan
  • 5) Forlorn
  • 6) Three Views of A Secret
  • 7) Badia/Boogie Waltz
  • 8) Wayne Solo
  • 9) Jaco Solo (Osaka 1980)

Disc 2

  • 1) Joe and Wayne Duet (Tokyo 1978)
  • 2) Birdland
  • 3) Peter’s Solo
  • 4) A Remark You Made
  • 5) Continuum/River People
  • 6) Gibraltar

Disc 3

  • 1) Fast City
  • 2) Madagascar
  • 3) Night Passage
  • 4) Dream Clock
  • 5) Rockin’ In Rhythm
  • 6) Port of Entry

Disc 4

  • 1) Elegant People
  • 2) Scarlet Women
  • 3) Black Market
  • 4) Jaco Solo (Osaka 1978)
  • 5) Teen Town
  • 6) Peter’s Solo (Osaka 1978)
  • 7) Directions

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Eric Thiessen

Spin Cds (http://www.spincds.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=Weather+Report) is only £24.99 (38.74 US Dollar).


As a WR fan, any news of unreleased material is great.

I’m a bit uncertain about the line regarding “bootleg recordings from the audience”… WR made professional recordings of all those shows, and so far only a tiny portion of all that’s been recorded already appeared, on “8:30” and “Live & Unreleased”… so why would they resort to audience recording, beats me.


How are the tapes legendary if they’ve never been heard and folks like commenter on this blog haven’t even hard *of* them? Still, looks to be very interesting.


Looks good!


Wow, I had no idea about this Paul…and I really enjoy this particular line-ups recordings! That’s why it’s always a good idea to keep track of your postings. Thanks for the heads up, appreciate it. :-)