Wilco / Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014 / four disc set


Nonesuch Records are releasing two Wilco collections next month, the most interesting of which is Alpha Mike Foxtrot, a four-CD and four-LP box set of rare studio and live recordings collected from the band’s extensive audio archives. What’s Your 20 is the other release, a 2-CD ‘essential tracks’ package of previously released material

Alpha Mike Foxtrot gathers up performances from soundtracks, tribute albums and B-sides and features 64-pages of liner notes that include track-by-track recollections from Jeff Tweedy, with notes from other band members and further recollections, as well as an array of archive and rare photography. Unlike What’s Your 20?, the rarities set is being issued on vinyl.

Both releases are out on 1 December 2014.

Alpha Mike Foxtrot Rare Tracks 1994-2014


4CD Box


4LP Vinyl Box


What’s Your 20? Essential Tracks 1994-2014

Track listing

Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014

Disc: 1

1. Childlike And Evergreen (Demo)
2. Someone Else’s Song (Demo)
3. Passenger Side (Demo)
4. Promising
5. The T.B. Is Whipping Me (with Syd Straw)
6. I Must Be High (Live)
7. Casino Queen (Live)
8. Who Were You Thinking Of (Live)
9. I Am Not Willing (with Syd Straw)
10. Burned
11. Blasting Fonda
12. Thirteen
13. Don’t You Honey Me
14. The Lonely 1 (White Hen Version)
15. No More Poetry
16. Box Full Of Letters (Live)
17. Red-Eyed And Blue (Live)
18. Forget The Flowers (Live)
19. Sunken Treasure (Live)
20. Monday (Demo)

Disc: 2
1. Passenger Side (Live)
2. Outtasite (Outta Mind) [Live]
3. I Got You At The End Of The Century (Live)
4. Outta Mind (Outta Site) [Live]
5. James Alley Blues (with Roger McGuinn) [Live]
6. At My Window Sad And Lonely (Jeff Tweedy Solo Version)
7. California Stars (Live)
8. One Hundred Years From Now
9. A Shot In The Arm (Remix)
10. ELT (King Size Demo Version)
11. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (again) [David Kahne Remix]
12. She’s A Jar (Austin Demo Version)
13. Tried And True
14. Student Loan Stereo
15. True Love Will Find You In The End
16. I’m Always In Love (Live)
17. Via Chicago (Austin Demo Version)
18. Can’t Stand It (Live)
19. Airline To Heaven (Alternate Version)
20. Any Major Dude Will Tell You

Disc: 3
1. I’m The Man Who Loves You (Live)
2. The Good Part
3. Cars Can’t Escape
4. Camera
5. Handshake Drugs (First Version)
6. A Magazine Called Sunset
7. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
8. Woodgrain
9. More Like The Moon
10. Let Me Come Home
11. Old Maid
12. Hummingbird (Alternate Version)
13. Spiders (Kidsmoke) [Live]
14. Hell Is Chrome (Live)
15. At Least That’s What You Said (Live)
16. The Late Greats (Live)
17. Just A Kid (with The Blisters)
18. Kicking Television

Disc: 4
1. Panthers
2. Theologians (Live)
3. Another Man’s Done Gone (Live)
4. I’m A Wheel (Live)
5. How To Fight Loneliness (Live)
6. One True Vine
7. The Thanks I Get
8. Let’s Not Get Carried Away
9. Hate It Here
10. Impossible Germany (Live)
11. I Shall Be Released (with Fleet Foxes) [Live]
12. What LIght
13. Jesus, Etc. (with Andrew Bird) [Live]
14. Glad It’s Over
15. Dark Neon
16. The Jolly Banker
17. Unlikely Japan
18. You And I (Live)
19. I Love My Label

What’s Your 20? Essential Tracks 1994-2014

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Ordering the vinyl through Wilcos European store is btw much cheaper than any amazon-preorder so far…


Ah, so the vinyl version omits all the live tracks. That actually makes it a bit more attractive.

Brenez Alain

The 4 LP box set contains 47 tracks vs 77 tracks for the CD collection. However there will be a download card for all the tracks from the CD collection.


Given that each CD has no less than 18 tracks, I’d be very surprised if this is only a 4LP set- either it’ll have fewer tracks on the vinyl, or there will be six (or more) LPs in the set. Given Wilco’s prior attention to detail with vinyl releases (and the pre-order price on Amazon), I anticipate the latter.


If anyone go to Wilco internet page as i said here last week they could find all info and the formats are 4 CD and Vinyl with download code so is have to be supposed is what willl get, here anyone can watch the song list of each one and make clear what haves or not.

About content itself have to say that not all is “Rare” since on Disc 3 is included the few songs of a EP that came as second disc on a special edition of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and last one on Disc 4 was released also on same stuff but here on their latest álbum, The Whole Love.

And what have could be very welcome for me at least are the CD’s in cluded on The Wilco Book and I’m Trying To Break Your Heart, a documentary about recording of YHF. Not to forget a 10″ EP called All Over The Place releasd between the first 2 albums (here at least appear one track from it) or even A Side of another 10″, SPeak To The Rose, since B was included on TWL (the last one on 4 i was talking about)…