Yes / “The Yes Album” CD+Blu-ray


The Yes Album (1971) was the third long-player from prog-rockers Yes and is the second of the band’s records to be remixed and expanded, following on from the 2013 reissue of Close To The Edge.

Like that re-release, The Yes album will be presented as a two-disc set in a vinyl replica gatefold card sleeve (with Japanese-style protective inner sleeves) with a booklet featuring new notes by Sid Smith, and rare photos and archive material. The album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson and is fully approved by Yes.

As before, the CD will feature a new stereo album mix (by that man Steven Wilson), and for this album you get the studio version of Clap and an extended version of A Venture.

Although this reissue is offered in CD+DVD guise, the CD+Blu-ray is the one to opt for because you get to enjoy a few exclusive audio treats thanks to the extra capacity of the blu-ray disc. The Blu-ray features the following content:

  • • 5.1 PCM Surround Sound and High Resolution Stereo mixes (24bit / 96khz).
  • • The original album mix in a hi-res flat transfer from the original stereo master tape source (24bit/192khz).
  • • A complete alternate album running order drawn from live tracks, singles edits and an extended mix.
  • • Exclusive instrumental versions of all new mixes in DTS-HD Master Audio stereo (24bit/96khz)*
  • • Exclusive needle-drop of an original UK vinyl A1/B1 pressing transferred in 24bit/96khz audio*

*Exclusive to Blu-ray.

It should be noted that the DVD is actually a DVD-A, so if you have the necessary equipment you will still get to enjoy hi-res 5.1 as well as stereo audio. If you have a standard DVD player then 5.1 will be DTS rather than lossless hi-res.

The Yes album is reissued on April 14th release and can be ordered via Burning Shed as well as Amazon. Like the previous reissue this offers incredible value for money.



Track listings

CD+Blu-ray Edition

CD – New Stereo Mixes:

  • 1. Yours Is No Disgrace
  • 2. Clap
  • 3. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker / Disillusion / Wurm
  • 4. I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move / All Good People
  • 5. A Venture
  • 6. Perpetual Change

Additional Tracks:

  •  7. Clap (Studio Version)
  • 8. A Venture (Extended)

Blu-Ray (Region 0, NTSC):

Presented in DTS-HD Master Audio

  • Album mixed in 5.1 Surround
  • New Album mix
  • Original Album mix (flat transfer)
  • New Album mix (instrumental version)
  • Alternate version of The Yes Album drawn from live tracks, singles edits & an extended mix

Plus further audio extras some exclusive to the Blu-Ray edition.

NTSC, all regions, LPCM playable in all Blu-Ray players & Blu-Ray drives

CD+DVD-A Edition

CD – New Stereo Mixes:

  • 1. Yours Is No Disgrace
  • 2. Clap
  • 3. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker / Disillusion / Wurm
  • 4. I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move / All Good People
  • 5. A Venture
  • 6. Perpetual Change

Additional Tracks:

  • 7. Clap (Studio Version)
  • 8. A Venture (Extended)

DVD-A (Region 0, NTSC):

  • Album mixed in 5.1 Surround from original multi-track sources.
  • New Album mix in High Resolution Stereo
  • Original Album mix (flat transfer) in High Resolution Stereo
  • Alternate version of The Yes Album drawn from live tracks, singles edits & an extended mix

NTSC Region 0 hybrid DVD-A, compatible with all DVD players & DVD-rom drives.

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Steven Wilson. This represents the third in the Yes reissue series (after Close to the Edge and The Yes Album) and like those releases Relayer will available as a CD+DVD-Audio set for fans who prefer that […]

Sally Linfeld

I have a dvd-a for fragile which sounds great, and a sacd came out for ‘going for the one’ by AudioFidelity but it’s not 5.1 –

Peter Chrisp

Phil that’s the one i am looking forward too, Tull’s Passion Play sometime in June? and their “lost” album, just bought the new Ian Anderson album ‘Homo Erraticus ” cd/dvd combo great stuff too

Phil Robinson

From Steven Wilson’s website: Also on the way this Summer are my stereo / 5.1 remixes of Jethro Tull’s A Passion Play (a 2 CD / 2 DVD set including the “lost” 1972 Chateau Tapes album), Gentle Giant’s The Power and the Glory (Blu-Ray/CD and DVD/CD), and XTC’s Drums and Wires (Blu-Ray/CD and DVD-A/CD).

There are plans to continue with all of these artist’s catalogues over time, with hopefully another early 70’s Yes title towards the end of the year.


Hard to find fault with this. Seems to me that the principle of keeping it simple works, as it did with Close To The Edge. No scarf, no marbles, just lots of alternative versions and mixes of the album in every shape or form you can think of, and it will fit snuggly in your collection. It is about the music after all – can’t wait!


How extended is the extended “A Venture”?


My order is now showing a price of £15, but it originally was about £12 on day of first amazon uk post. Lucky me.
I know I will get the lowest price.


I hope they do Going for the One, I’ve never been too thrilled with the way it sounds.

As for this release – pre-order is in.


Great, wonderful news about your pre-order. Please let us all know when you get a shipping update, we can’t wait to hear about it.


Will do, Andy.

Can you lock Steve Wilson in the basement, and not let him out until he’s completed the entire catalog? :)


Another high quality re-master from Yes in the talented hands of Steven Wilson. I bought the Studio Albums 1969-1987 box set and I wouldn`t complain if ALL the albums were remastered like CTTE & TYA. As Mike (above) says there`s one more, which I think is `Going For The One`, I have been known to be wrong!

What`s happening with the S.E. on-line store Paul?, can`t wait to give you some custom.


Amazon.uk had a price of £12 which I preordered but it still has no info on if its a BluRay, DVD or whatever.


the amazon.de price is a bit steep at the moment….


There’s one more SW Yes remix coming, but I can’t remember if it’s for “Fragile” or “Going For The One.”


Steve Howe has said something about “Tales from Topographic Oceans”.

Peter Chrisp

What can i say, with so many recent Yes box sets and their classic “Close To The Edge” cd/bluray format, and now “The Yes Album” in a similar format, to me this is the way to go!!! Judging by what Yes have suggested
there will be more on the horizon, if you are a Yes fan{atic} can’t wait.