FIRST PICTURES / The Beatles / The US Albums box: A Hard Days Night


Following on from our exclusive photos of The Beatles US Albums box set, we are working our way through the individual albums to show you exclusive pictures of the real CD reissue packaging. Today we present the US Album A Hard Day’s Night.

In the USA The Beatles‘ A Hard Day’s Night was actually a United Artists release, rather than Capitol. It was issued in June 1964 and only contained one side of the UK version plus I’ll Cry Instead, and then padded things out a bit with orchestral, easy listening instrumental versions of some other Lennon-McCartney songs (albeit conducted by George Martin). The stereo version of this had the pop songs in ‘fake’ or duophonic stereo, rather than a true stereo mix, but these will be replaced with ‘proper’ stereo versions on the 2014 CD.

The CD reissue of A Hard Day’s Night contains full mono and stereo versions of the original record. It is available separately or as part of the US Albums box set.

Track listing

Side one

  • 1. “A Hard Day’s Night” 2:33
  • 2. “Tell Me Why” 2:10
  • 3. “I’ll Cry Instead” 2:06
  • 4. “I Should Have Known Better” instrumental 2:10
  • 5. “I’m Happy Just to Dance with You” 1:59
  • 6. “And I Love Her” instrumental 3:46

Side two

  • 1. “I Should Have Known Better”  2:44
  • 2. “If I Fell” 2:22
  • 3. “And I Love Her”  2:29
  • 4. “Ringo’s Theme (This Boy)” instrumental 3:10
  • 5. “Can’t Buy Me Love” 2:12
  • 6. “A Hard Day’s Night” instrumental 2:06
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Joao Costa

No photos today? :(