Mike Oldfield / Platinum and QE2 reissues on the way

Mike Oldfield / QE2 and Platinum reissues
Mike Oldfield circa 1980

Mercury Records (Universal) are have announced the fifth and sixth releases in Mike Oldfield’s reissue programme. Platinum (1979) and QE2 (1980) will be released on the 23 July 2012

Like the previous releases in the series, Oldfield has been closely involved in their assemblage, selecting material, approving masters and adding material from his archive to make the packages definitive editions.

Both releases will come as either a single remastered single disc edition or a 2CD Deluxe Edition. The bonus discs feature live material. You can also order limited edition numbered coloured vinyl versions of both albums, available exclusively from the Mike Oldfield Official Store.

Pre-order Platinum Deluxe here (US) or here (UK).

Pre-order QE2 Deluxe here (US) or here (UK).

Track listings

Platinum Deluxe Edition

Disc 1

  • 1. Platinum Part One: Airborne
  • 2. Platinum Part Two: Platinum
  • 3. Platinum Part Three: Charleston
  • 4. Platinum Part Four: North Star / Platinum Finale
  • 5. Woodhenge
  • 6. Into Wonderland
  • 7. Punkadiddle
  • 8. I Got Rhythm
  • 9. Platinum (live studio session)
  • 10. North Star (2012 Mike Oldfield remix)
  • 11. Blue Peter

Disc 2: Live at Wembley Arena, May 1980

  • 1. Platinum
  • 2. Punkadiddle
  • 3. I’ve Got Rhythm
  • 4. Incantations
  • 5. Tubular Bells Part Two
  • 6. Guilty / Tubular Bells Part One Finale
  • 7. Blue Peter / Portsmouth
  • 8. William Tell

QE2 Deluxe Edition

Disc 1

  • 1. Taurus I
  • 2. Sheba
  • 3. Conflict
  • 4. Arrival
  • 5. Wonderful Land
  • 6. Mirage
  • 7. QE2
  • 8. Celt
  • 9. Molly
  • 10. Polka
  • 11. Wonderful Land (single version)

Disc 2 : Live in Essen, European Adventure Tour, April 1981

  • 1. Taurus I
  • 2. Sheba
  • 3. Mirage
  • 4. Conflict
  • 5. Ommadawn
  • 6. Punkadiddle
  • 7. Tubular Bells Part One
  • 8. QE2
  • 9. Portsmouth

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
JJ Delmas

It seems pretty obvious that the 5.1 series has consisted basically of a remix based on the old quadraphonic mixes; those mixes existed for Tubular Bells, Hergest Ridge, Ommadawn and Incantations, although in the latter case they have been only partially usable. So I am very afraid that we will see no more 5.1 mixes in this campaign.
However, the good news is that the live bonus CDs included in Platinum and QE2 are nothing short of fantastic! The QE2 live CD is a (possibly complete) recording of the very concert from where the legendary Live Punkadiddle was taken. So you know what quality to expect. For the serious fan, those two reissues are not to be missed IMHO.


Any word about what happened to 5.1 on these re-releases? Is there a way you could poke, Paul? Will they resume mixing the albums in 5.1 at a later point, or have we seen the last of it?

I would so love to hear Crises, Tubular Bells 2 or Songs of Distant Earth in 5.1 Surround. I hope he goes back to it…


I feel considerable, uncontrollable yawning coming on. And people say Emerson Lake & Palmer are pretentious!

Lazlo Nibble

Platinum without “Sally” is not definitive!

Paul Kent

Fingers crossed there won’t be any gremlins this time round, like there were with Incantations.