Neil Diamond / Hot August Night 40th Anniversary Edition

Neil Diamond / Hot August Night 40th Anniversary EditionNeil Diamond will celebrate 40 years since the release of his 1972 live double album Hot August Night this summer with an Anniversary reissue that boasts four previously unreleased tracks. The album is a recording of a Diamond concert from 24 August 1972, one of ten sold out concerts that he performed that month at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles.

Hot August Night is very much regarded as a defining album for an artist whose career is still going strong. Indeed, Neil Diamond returns to that very same theatre this August (11th and 16th) for some live concerts – completing the circle of a forty year journey.

Hot August Night 40th Anniversary Edition is out on 31st July and can be pre-ordered here (US).

Track listing:

CD 1:

  • 01 Prologue
  • 02 Crunchy Granola Suite
  • 03 Done Too Soon
  • 04 Dialogue
  • 05 Solitary Man
  • 06 Cherry Cherry
  • 07 Sweet Caroline
  • 08 Porcupine Pie
  • 09 You’re So Sweet
  • 10 Red Red Wine
  • 11 Soggy Pretzels
  • 12 Gitchy Goomy*
  • 13 And the Grass Won’t Pay No Mind
  • 14 I Think It’s Going to Rain Today*
  • 15 Shilo
  • 16 Modern Day Version of Love*
  • 17 Girl You’ll Be a Woman Soon
  • 18 Walk on Water
  • 19 Kentucky Woman
  • 20 Stones
  • 21 Musician Intros*

CD 2:

  • 01 Play Me
  • 02 Canta Libre
  • 03 Morningside
  • 04 Song Sung Blue
  • 05 Cracklin’ Rosie
  • 06 Holly Holy
  • 07 I Am….i Said
  • 08 Soolaimon / Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show

*previously unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Another reissue of a reissue…….. Why didn’t they release this last time around? Are there more tracks for a 45th or 50th anniversary set I wonder?

Javier Santivanez

Totally agree with Philip. I have the remaster the label released in the early 2000s and would not buy this. It would make more sense to release additional concerts (as CDs3 & 4 in a boxset) like they did with The Who’s ” Live at Leeds” (assuming of course the label did record more dates).


Musician Intros is counted as an extra track? That’s a bit low. Great album, although I’ll be surprised if I replace my vinyl copy. I’ve always thought the cover looked as if something had been airbrushed out.