Rod Stewart / Vinyl box set 1969-74


Rod Stewart is a five LP vinyl box set of all of Rod Stewart’s studio albums originally released between 1969 and 1974.

Each record will be pressed on 180g vinyl and we are promised ‘exact reproductions’ of the original artwork. The vinyl LPs will slot into a outer slipcase, with a tartan design.

The albums in this set are: An Old Raincoat Won’t Ever Let You Down (1969), Gasoline Alley (1970), Every Picture Tells A Story (1971), Never A Dull Moment (1972), and Smiler (1974).

This Rod Stewart vinyl set is released on 1 December 2014.


An Old Raincoat Won’t Ever Let You Down

Side A
1. Street Fighting Man
2. Man of Constant Sorrow
3. Blind Prayer
4. Handbags and Gladrags

Side B
1. An Old Raincoat Won’t Ever Let You Down
2. I Wouldn’t Ever Change a Thing
3. Cindy’s Lament
4. Dirty Old Town

Gasoline Alley

Side A
1. Gasoline Alley
2. It’s All Over Now
3. Only a Hobo
4. My Way of Giving

Side B
1. Country Comfort
2. Cut Across Shorty
3. Lady Day
4. Jo’s Lament
5. I Don’t Want to Discuss It

Every Picture Tells A Story 

Side A
1. Every Picture Tells a Story
2. Seems Like a Long Time
3. That’s All Right
4. Amazing Grace
5. Tomorrow Is a Long Time

Side B
1. Henry
2. Maggie May
3. Mandolin Wind
4. (I Know) I’m Losing You
5. Reason to Believe

Never A Dull Moment

Side A
1. True Blue
2. Lost Paraguayos
3. Mama You Been on My Mind
4. Italian Girls

Side B
1. Angel
2. Interludings
3. You Wear It Well
4. I’d Rather Go Blind
5. Twisting the Night Away


Side A
1. Sweet Little Rock ‘N’ Roller
2. Lochinvar
3. Farewell
4. Sailor
5. Bring It On Home To Me/You Send Me
6. Let Me Be Your Car

Side B
1. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Man
2. Dixie Toot
3. Hard Road
4. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face (Instrumental)
5. Girl from the North Country
6. Mine For Me

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Hello Artyom and readers,

Thanks for the response. Just went back today. All Companies should put the mastering info on every format. Period. Take care.

[…] is a box-set simply titled “Rod Stewart“. This box-set features his first five albums and some of his best […]

David Olstein

Probably mastered from CD files and utterly worthless for anyone actually interested in listening to them. But hey, it’s a pretty box.


please record companies,stop selling albums that are already available everywhere in ex/mint condition (thrift shops,record shops,discogs,ebay…) and START putting out unreleased or very hard to find or very expensive vinyl PLEASE (Lenny Kravitz albums [5 is still unavailable on vinyl guys!!!],The Cranberries albums…nearly everything from 1990 to 2009)

you guys must understand that there are also YOUNG people buying vinyl,and not only crap like Eminem,Jay-Z …or the 35268th reissue of Bob Marley’s Legend (which is a masterpiece but) which is available in every corner of this planet on vinyl ALREADY!!!

Artyom Yakovlev

Richard, I can’t say anything about the masters for MoFi’s Rod Stewart reissues but they used a first-generation copy of the master tapes for “Seeds of Love” and “Songs From the Big Chair” by Tears For Fears.
I assume an analogue first-generation copy will always be better for vinyl production than any digital transfers – and I have a gut feeling that this box set will be cut from a digital source.


Mofi didn’t have the original masters. The old gold cd I have, supposedly was an original master. Who’s pressing them? Analog or digital files?


Bit off topic. But does anyone know if the soon to be released cd box set the studio albums 75-03 will contain the remastered albums only available as downloads so far with the bonus tracks?

Artyom Yakovlev

Pointless, I think. “Every Picture Tells A Story” and “Gasoline Alley” have just been reissued by Mobile Fidelity. There are still plenty of copies floating around. I doubt that this box set will beat the usual excellent quality of MoFi reissues.
On the other hand, I would be glad to see “Atlantic Crossing” and “A Night On The Town” both of which have never been released on heavyweight vinyl.