The Stranglers / Here and There: The Epic B-sides compilation


A new Stranglers collection will be released in the UK later this month that compiles the band’s B-sides from the Epic Years (1983-1991).

The 40-track collection – which was available in some territories earlier this year – spans two CDs and includes the saga of ‘Vladimir’ which featured on a few different singles back in the day.

Interestingly – a bit of inside information for you – I proposed a Stranglers ‘Remixes & Rarities’ for Cherry Red last year that contained much of this plus various single remixes, but it was rejected by the band’s management. Oh well.

Here & There: The Epic B-sides Collection will be available on 17 November 2014.

Track listing

Disc: 1
1. Here and There
2. In One Door
3. Since You Went Away
4. You
5. Instead of This
6. Head On the Line
7. Achilles Heel
8. Permission
9. Norman Normal
10. Dry Day
11. Savage Breast
12. Hit Man
13. Poisonality
14. Something
15. Pawsher
16. Motorbike
17. Hot Club
18. Place de Victoires
19. Burnham Beeches
20. Aural Sculpture Manifesto

Disc: 2
1. Midnight Summers Dream/European Female
2. Shakin’ Like a Leaf
3. Uptown
4. Souls
5. Was It You
6. Strange Little Girl
7. Who Wants the World
8. Peaches
9. Straighten Out
10. Always the Sun
11. Nuclear Device
12. All Day & All of the Night
13. Punch & Judy
14. Hot Club
15. Vladimir & Olga
16. Vladimir & Sergei
17. Vladimir & the Beast (Part III)
18. Vladimir Goes to Havana
19. !Viva Vlad!
20. Vladimir & the Pearl

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

As far as I can tell, there are only 3 previously-unreleased-on-CD tracks on this set:
1. the “Hot Club” not remixed version (which is nearly identical to the remixed version anyways)
2. a no-great-shakes live version of “Was it You?”
3. Vladimir & the Pearl.

Every single other track on there was already included as a bonus track on the Sony re-issues of the Strangler’s 5 Epic albums in 2001, and having compared the sound quality, I tend to prefer Sony’s remastering to this set – there’s a couple extra dBs of treble on some of the tracks in the new disc, which sound more like the engineer had a cold.

Gary Russell

So presumably Disc 2 tracks 1-11 are all live b sides. Is Hot Club (the non-remixed version) making it’s CD debut here? Or is Disc 2 track 14 also a live one?


Another Stranglers CD release or reissue, what the Stranglers are missing out on is the vinyl resurgence. I think there would be huge demand for Stranglers vinyl sets – album and singles.

Sten Sawicz

Hi Paul,
Just a little snippet of information regarding this release. It was made available to buy on the 40th Ruby anniversary tour earlier this year, with the proviso that it would eventually gain a general release at some point, as has now happened