Classic soundtrack vinyl box sets


Concord Music have launched a Original Soundtrack Classics series that sees iconic and acclaimed film soundtracks reissued in deluxe vinyl box sets.

The series kicks off with three titles from the Fantasy Records archive – One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, and J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings (i.e. Ralph Bakshi’s 1978 film) and Amadeus. These are respectively single LP, double LP and triple LP box sets.


One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest and The Lord of the Rings reproduce the original gatefold sleeves and both come with massive posters, as does Amadeus which packages the three 180g vinyl records in their own unique sleeve. In fact this is the first time the entire score to that film has been issued on vinyl.

These box sets all come with 16-page booklets and other replica memorabilia or film ephemera. For example in addition to the poster, the Lord of the Rings box comes a lobby card, a map of Middle-earth, a production cel and a sticker, while Cuckoo’s Nest includes a couple of badges (“Beware Big Nurse” and “McMurphy Rules”).

These three vinyl box sets will be released on 11 September 2015.



J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings 2LP box set

Amadeus 3LP box set

One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (vinyl box set)



One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

Side 1:

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1:28) (Opening Theme)
Medication Valse (5:23)
Bus Ride to Paradise (3:11)
Cruising (1:34)
Trolling (2:33)
Aloha los Pescadores (2:13)
Side 2:

Charmaine (3:52)
Play the Game (2:32)
Last Dance (5:27)
Act of Love (1:15)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (2:53) (Ending Theme)



Side One

  1. W.A. Mozart: Symphony No. 25 in G Minor, K. 183; 1st Movement. (7:46)
  2. Giovanni Battista Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Quando Corpus Morietur and Amen. (4:13)
  3. Early 18th Century Gypsy Music: Bubák and Hungaricus. (1:17)
  4. W.A. Mozart: Serenade for Winds, K. 361; 3rd Movement. (6:09)
  5. W.A. Mozart: Die Entführung Aus Dem Serail (The Abduction from The Seraglio, K. 384); Turkish Finale. (1:23)
  6. W.A. Mozart: Symphony No. 29 in A, K. 201; 1st Movement. (5:39)

Side Two

  1. W.A. Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos, K. 365; 3rd Movement. (7:11)
  2. W.A. Mozart: Mass in C Minor, K. 427; Kyrie. (6:27)
  3. W.A. Mozart: Symphonie Concertante, K. 364; 1st Movement. (13:31)

Side Three

  1. W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto in E Flat, K. 482; 3rd Movement. (11:04)
  2. W.A. Mozart: Le Nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492); Act Iii, Ecco la Marcia. (2:26)
  3. W.A. Mozart: Le Nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492); Act Iv, Ah Tutti Contenti. (2:33)

4.  W.A. Mozart: Don Giovanni, K. 527; Act Ii, Commendatore Scene. (6:57)

Side Four

  1. W.A. Mozart: Zaide; Aria, Ruhe Sanft. (6:23)

2.–6.  W.A. Mozart: Requiem, K. 626.

Introitus (Eternal Rest Give to Them, O Lord) (0:58)

Dies Irae (Day of Wrath) 1:51)

Rex Tremendae Majestatis (Awe-Inspiring King) (2:03)

Confutatis (When those Cursed Enter Flames) (2:17)

Lacrimosa (Mournful Day) (3:44)

7.  W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto In D Minor, K. 466; 2nd Movement. (9:51).

Side Five

  1. W.A. Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute, K. 620); Overture. (6:48)
  2. W.A. Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute, K. 620); Aria (No. 14), “Queen of the Night”

(Der Hölle Rache Kocht). (2:54)

  1. W.A. Mozart: Masonic Funeral Music, K. 477. (5:40)
  2. W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto in D Minor, K. 466; 1st Movement. (12:15)

5.  Antonio Salieri: Axur, Finale. (1:12)

Side Six

  1. W.A. Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik (Seranade), K. 525; 1st Movement. (5:36)
  2. W.A. Mozart: Concerto for Flute and Harp, K. 299; 2nd Movement. (8:30)
  3. W.A. Mozart: Six German Dances (Nos. 1–3), K. 509. (2:47)
  4. Giuseppe Giordani: Caro Mio Ben. (2:35)
  5. W.A. Mozart: Die Entführung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From The Seraglio, K. 384)Chorus Of the Janissaries (Arr.) / Ich Möchte Wohl (Ein Deutsches Kriegslied, K. 539) (Arr.) (4:21)


Lord of The Rings

Side One

1.   Theme from The Lord of the Rings  4:43

2.   The History of the Ring  6:32

3.   The Journey Begins; Encounter with the Ringwraiths  4:29

4.   Riders of Rohan  3:45

Side Two

1.   Escape to Rivendell  6:22

2.   Mines of Moria  6:11

3.   The Battle in the Mines; The Balrog 5:11

Side Three

1.   Mithrandir  3:19

2.   Gandalf Remembers  2:20

3.   Frodo Disappears  2:40

4.   Following the Orcs  3:18

5.   Attack of the Orcs  4:04

Side Four

1.   Helm’s Deep  7:03

2.   The Dawn Battle; Théoden’s Victory  5:37

3.   The Voyage to Mordor; Theme from The Lord of the Rings  4:43

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

In regards to amazon not currently available it just means they have not got a proper release date price or stock update, it usefully takes a while to update.

Don S

I actually have fond memories of the LotR soundtrack and would be interested—but NOT on vinyl.

I could not wait for vinyl’s demise and there is no way I would ever go back. And yes, my ears do detect a difference: no more pops, scratches, random bumps, and all the other myriad frustrations inherent in vinyl.
Rant over.


Prices are a joke.


Not sure how good these will sound either. Side 2 of the Amadeus set seems to be packing over 28 minutes of music. That is a stretch for a single side of vinyl no matter how heavyweight it is…


Does anyone agree that when they prominently put “Deluxe Collectors Edition” on anything, it actually cheapens it and makes it anything but? Rant over….. :-)

Mr Tim

McCartneys tug of war box set also listed as not currently avalible i.e to pre order has been for weeks now. Odd. And i mean the ‘normal’ one not the limited to 1000 set with slip case. One wonders why..


The Amazon ‘not currently available’ is getting quite common even on more orthodox forthcoming release – Killing Joke, Lana Del Rey… What is it with that?


Please tell me there’ll be CD editions.


These are all owned by the Saul Zantz Company. They should call these soundtrack editions the Saul Zantz Classic Soundtrack Collection.


Regarding the Peter Jackson LOTR film complete soundtracks, it amazes me why whoever the copyright owner is these days doesn’t re-release them. I only have the third film’s SDEdition, and cant’t possibly afford what these sell for on the second hand market. They’d have an instant customer in me.


Though I’m pretty quick at times to criticize vinyl-only releases, if these are released at a good price point, they’re both nice chunks of music to see back in circulation, but also cool collectors’ pieces.

Fingers crossed the price is right though. That’s the lynchpin.


The animated Lord of the Rings….. Iconic soundtrack?




Badges for OFOTCN have to rank as some of the most desperate merchandising of all time!

Cuckoo’s Nest “currently unavailable” on the UK and US Amazon but still up on Canada.

That Amadeus price is just silly. Vinyl fetishisation gone mad.


Why no CDs??