Faces / Vinyl set cut from analogue


Rhino have revealed that the five-LP vinyl edition of You Can Dance, Sing Or Anything 1970-75, the forthcoming Faces box set, will be cut straight from the analogue tapes.

The label promise ‘superior audiophile quality’ and for once this actually means something, since the analogue tape direct-to-lacquers process cuts out the digital domain completely. This vinyl set includes the Stray Singles & B-sides rarities disc but will not contain the bonus tracks on the CDs. The 180g vinyl will come packaged in sleeves that “meticulously” recreate the original release. For instance, when you push the sleeve for Ooh La La, the man’s eyes move and his mouth opens.

You Can Dance, Sing Or Anything 1970-75 will be released on 28 August 2015. Buying Tip: Pre-order from Amazon Italy where this will cost you just £65 (or $84, if ordering from the US) not the £100 on the UK site.


5LP Vinyl Box set cut from analogue

Faces / You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything 1970-1975

5CD box set


Track listing

Disc 1: First Step
1. Wicked Messenger
2. Devotion
3. Shake, Shudder, Shiver
4. Stone
5. Around The Plynth
6. Flying
7. Pineapple And the Monkey
8. Nobody Knows
9. Looking Out The Window
10. Three Button Hand Me Down

Bonus tracks (CD only)
11. Behind The Sun (Outtake)
12. Mona – The Blues (Outtake)
13. Shake, Shudder, Shiver (BBC Session)
14. Flying (Take 3)
15. Nobody Knows (Take 2)

Disc 2: Long Player
1. Bad ‘N’ Ruin
2. Tell Everyone
3. Sweet Lady Mary
4. Richmond
5. Maybe I’m Amazed
6. Had Me A Real Good Time
7. On The Beach
8. I Feel So Good
9. Jerusalem

Bonus tracks (CD only)
10. Whole Lotta Woman (Outtake)
11. Tell Everyone (Take 1)
12. Sham-Mozzal (Instrumental – Outtake)
13. Too Much Woman (For A Henpecked Man) [Live – Fillmore East, New York 11/10/70]
14. Love In Vain (Live – Fillmore East, New York 11/10/70)

Disc  3: A Nod Is As Good As a Wink… to a Blind Horse
1. Miss Judy’s Farm
2. You’re So Rude
3. Love Lives Here
4. Last Orders Please
5. Stay With Me
6. Debris
7. Memphis
8. Too Bad
9. That’s All You Need

Bonus tracks (CD only)
10. Miss Judy’s Farm (BBC Session)
11. Stay With Me (BBC Session)

Disc 4: Ooh La La
1. Silicone Grown
2. Cindy Incidentally
3. My Fault
4. Borstal Boys
5. Fly In The Ointment
6. If I’m On The Late Side
7. Glad And Sorry
8. Just Another Honky
9. Ooh La La

Bonus tracks (CD only)
10. Cindy Incidently (BBC Session)
11. Borstal Boys (Rehearsal)
12. Silicone Grown (Rehearsal)
13. Glad And Sorry (Rehearsal)
14. Jealous Guy (Live – Reading Festival, Reading, UK 8/25/73)
15. Flags And Banners

Disc 5: Stray Singles & B-sides
1. Pool Hall Richard (2006 Remastered Single Version)
2. I Wish It Would Rain (With A Trumpet) (Live – Reading Festival, Reading, UK 8/25/73) (Remastered)
3. Rear Wheel Skid (Remastered Single Version
4. Maybe I’m Amazed (Remastered Single Version)
5. Oh Lord I’m Browned Off (Remastered Single Version)
6. You Can Make Me Dance, Sing Or Anything (Even Take The Dog For A Walk, Mend A Fuse, Fold Away The Ironing Board, Or Any Other Domestic Short Comings) (2006 Remastered Single Version)
7. As Long As You Tell Him (Single Version)
8. Skewiff (Mend The Fuse) (Remastered Single Version)
9. Dishevelment Blues (Remastered Single Version)


5LP Vinyl Box set cut from analogue

Faces / You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything 1970-1975

5CD box set

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Stanley Patel

This is all silly talk regarding if an album is mastered in an analogue or digital domain. All that matters is that the album is mastered well. There is nothing wrong in sound quality with the recent Led Zeppelin & Beatles reissues and they were done digitally.

There are more important factors such as ones turntable being of good quality , well set up & clean/unworn stylus before people can even talk about sound quality.


I agree Greg and hopefully Rhino, Universal, and other labels will take note.


This is what a customer should demand in a vinyl reissue today — analogue tape direct-to-lacquers process cuts out the digital domain completely — otherwise what you get is a 12″ CD with all of the negatives of an LP.