Nick Drake / Pink Moon boxed vinyl

Nick Drake / Pink Moon boxed vinyl edition

Nick Drake’s seminal third and final album Pink Moon (1972) is now available in remastered vinyl form as a limited edition deluxe box from Universal Music Strategic Marketing (UMSM).

The album has been remastered by the original co-producer and engineer; John Wood at Abbey Road and pressed on audiophile virgin vinyl with the original gatefold sleeve, inner sleeve, paper labels, the promotional shop-poster and a facsimile of Nick’s handwritten lyrics to four of the songs, all gathered together in a box showing the original master tape box from which the vinyl was mastered.

This set also comes with a card with a code for a 24-bit download. Interestingly you get the album in three different file formats – hi-res FLAC files and standard MP3 (both of the remastered version) or ‘dubbed from disc’ MP3s – in other words a vinyl rip – of Nick Drake’s own copy of Pink Moon “played on a period record player for added authenticity”. Remarkably, as well as Pink Moon, the download code provides all three of Nick’s albums in digital form. So you get FIVE LEAVES LEFT, BRYTER LAYTER and PINK MOON as 24/96 FLAC, MP3 derived from 24/96 and the “dubbed from disc” MP3 sets!

This box set release will be followed in next year by Bryter Layter and Five Leaves Left in much the same formats.


  • • Audiophile virgin vinyl
  • • Gatefold sleeve, inner sleeve, paper labels
  • • Original promotional shop-poster
  • • Facsimile of Nick’s handwritten lyrics to four of the songs
  • • Box showing the original master tape box from which the vinyl was mastered
  • • Digital download card
  • • Original Engineer/Producer John Wood
  • • Mastered from original 40 year old analogue master tapes

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] the previously issued Pink Moon and Bryter Layter boxes, this set will offer a heavyweight remastered vinyl record housed in a […]

[…] 1970 album Bryter Layter was issued last week as a special vinyl box set, in the same way Pink Moon was last […]

[…] 1970′s Bryter Layter, receives the same vinyl box set treatment as the Pink Moon reissue from last year on 29 April 2013 (slightly delayed from the original […]

[…] album will be getting the same treatment as the Pink Moon reissue from last year – pressed on audiophile heavyweight virgin vinyl, with the original packaging replicated, and […]

[…] re-release of Drake’s third actual album Pink Moon. Specialist blog Super Deluxe Edition reports that as well as offering FLAC and MP3 downloads (a nice touch), the release also includes […]


You just know that all hope is abandoned when a company releasing vinyl has the words “Strategic Marketing” in their title. Where’s Bill Hicks when we need him? Just saying!


Hi, it may be of interest for some of you that the download code in this set includes all three of Nick´s albums! Hence, you get FIVE LEAVES LEFT, BRYTER LAYTER and PINK MOON as 24/96 FLAC, MP3 derived from 24/96 and the “transferred from Disc”-MP3-Sets!
Haven´t time to hear the vinyl or the high-res files yet, though, but this comes as a nice surprise!

Rob Puricelli

I used to work for STL Technologies, the company that grew out of the ashes of Sound Techniques, which is where Nick recorded all of his work, in Chelsea. Geoff Frost, co founder of Sound Techniques, is alive and well and is currently, amongst other things, creating authentic new studio hardware based on his original designs, all of which were employed at some time in the Sound Techniques studio. His son Matt is a successful music journalist in his own right.