The Jam / The Studio Recordings: 8LP career-spanning vinyl box


Universal Music will release a limited edition Jam vinyl box set in November.

The Studio Recordings is an 8LP collection featuring remastered versions of all six studio albums on heavyweight vinyl, plus two special LPs of non-album singles and B-sides.

Within the rigid slipcase, next to the records, you will also find a 44-page hardback book (with an introduction by Paul Weller) full of period photographs and memorabilia. For the times when you can’t access your black vinyl, a download code for MP3s of all the tracks is included.

The Jam – The Studio Recordings vinyl box is out on 25 November 2013.

Click to enlarge

Box set content:

The albums:

1. In The City
2. This Is The Modern World
3. All Mod Cons
4. Setting Sons
5. Sound Affects
6. The Gift


‘Extras-Special’ Singles: 1977 – 1982 (Volume One)

Side 1

  • 1. All Around The World
  • 2. Carnaby Street
  • 3. News Of The World
  • 4. Aunties And Uncles
  • 5. Innocent Man
  • 6. So Sad About Us
  • 7. The Night

Side 2

  • 1. Strange Town
  • 2. The Butterfly Collector
  • 3. When You’re Young
  • 4. Smithers-Jones
  • 5. See Saw


‘Extras-Special’ Singles: 1977 – 1982 (Volume Two)

Side 1

  • 1. Going Underground
  • 2. Dreams Of Children
  • 3. Liza Radley
  • 4. Funeral Pyre
  • 5. Disguises
  • 6. Absolute Beginners
  • 7. Tales From The Riverbank
  • 8. The Great Depression

Side 2

  • 1. The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)
  • 2. Pity Poor Alfie / Fever
  • 3. Beat Surrender
  • 4. Shopping
  • 5. Move On Up
  • 6. Stoned Out Of My Mind
  • 7. War

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] The Jam / The Studio Recordings: 8LP career-spanning vinyl box […]


I’m not convinced that new vinyl pressings are better soundwise than the originals. Too much digital intervention in what is an analog medium does not make for an improvement in my book. I’ll stick with my original pressings. They have the true vinyl sound from an era when vinyl was king and not a vanity product for bandwagon chasers.

Alan Fenwick

It’s a little cheaper direct from Universal for £89.99


[…] that is a price of around £88 or $142. That is a great deal, considering the newly announced 8LP Jam vinyl box set is […]


Another money fleecing exercise from Universal. My guess is next year for Christmas they’ll put out a Jam vinyl singles box. Eventually these labels will have exhausted all permutations of milking back catalogues, surely? The prices keep rising, too. It’s getting very daft.

Minty Fresh

…and it’s rare that anybody does a decent remastering job (although take a bow messers Albini and Jones). Enough damn you!


They’ve already issued Jam 7″ singles boxsets, although they seem to be out of print now. No doubt they’ll be next on the release schedule.



The current price £131.99 is crazy.


Oh look, it’s 1980 all over again. –lol–

These box sets are frankly ridiculous. Is Jam on vinyl hard to find, or what? These are worse than some of the poorer CD sets out there. I can maybe see audiophiles wanting new pressings – but that aside I don’t see who this is for. At current prices that’s £16.50 a disc.

World has gone mad.


So, bugger all any self respecting fan doesn’t already have (the extras, I mean) – probably on vinyl too. Oh well, we’re all used to whoever controls The Jam’s back catalogue these days fleecing us again… and again… and again…

Suppose we shouldn’t grumble – at least we get new packaging for our money.


Simon Franklin

not very exciting but a nice box and book! will get it for this and the two extra’s discs – still hopefully setting sons deluxe next year!