Tim Bowness / Abandoned Dancehall Dreams


Tim Bowness of art-pop duo No-Man will issue Abandoned Dancehall Dreams, a new solo record, later next month.

Produced with No-Man partner (and celebrated 5.1 remixer) Steven Wilson, the album features contributions from an impressive array of talent including Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Anna Phoebe (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) and members of the No-Man live band. Abandoned Dancehall Dreams was also mastered by Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson.

Our sneak preview of The Warm Up Man Forever suggests an exciting long-player. The track features heavy tribal drumming, a great string arrangement, wistful lyrics and towards the end a ferocious Taxman-esque guitar solo (courtesy of No-Man’s Mike Bearpark).

The new release is available as a double-CD edition, which features remixes and alternates on the second disc, as well as a gatefold vinyl edition (which also comes with CD of the 8-track album). A very limited white vinyl has unfortunately already sold out already!

Abandoned Dancehall Dreams will be released on 23 June 2014 and can be pre-ordered from the Burning Shed online store.

Track listing

2CD Media Book Edition

Disc 1: Abandoned Dancehall Dreams:

  • 1. The Warm-Up Man Forever (4.06)
  • 2. Smiler At 50 (8.19)
  • 3. Songs Of Distant Summers (5.02)
  • 4. Waterfoot (4.14)
  • 5. Dancing For You (5.59)
  • 6. Smiler At 52 (4.05)
  • 7. I Fought Against The South (8.51)
  • 8. Beaten By Love (3.28)

Disc 2: Abandoned Dancehall Mixes and Outtakes

  • 1. There Were Days (Smiler At 52, Grasscut mix) (4.53)
  • 2. Sounds Of Distant Summers (Songs Of Distant Summers, Richard Barbieri mix) (5.31)
  • 3. Singing For You (Dancing For You, UXB mix) (4.42)
  • 4. Abandoned Dancehall Dream (2.25)
  • 5. The Sweetest Bitter Pill (3.51)
  • 6. The Warm-Up Man Forever (band version) (4.15)
  • 7. Songs Of Distant Summers Part 1 (band version) (4.55)
  • 8. Songs Of Distant Summers Part 2 (band version) (3.59)

Gatefold Black vinyl LP+ single CD

Side 1:

  • 1. The Warm-Up Man Forever (4.06)
  • 2. Smiler At 50 (8.19)
  • 3. Songs Of Distant Summers (5.02)
  • 4. Waterfoot (4.14)

Side 2:

  • 1. Dancing For You (5.59)
  • 2. Smiler At 52 (4.05)
  • 3. I Fought Against The South (8.51)
  • 4. Beaten By Love (3.28)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] this July release Stupid Things That Mean The World, a new solo album and swift follow up to last year’s Abandoned Dancehall […]


Tim Bowness is often overlooked in favour of the wonderful Steven Wilson but I think the man is equally wonderful and I am really looking forward to this, no-man have some exquisite work, I wish they would re-release loveblows and lovecries and give it the deluxe edition overhaul.

So good to see this site mention Tim also, thanks Paul

Robert van Diggele

Looking forward to this release a lot. The majority of the songs were written with no-man in mind, but Steven Wilson could not find the time to commit to this as a no-man album. Luckily he has been mixing this album.

When you want to hear more experimental music from Bowness, you should check out California, Norfolk from Tim Bowness/Peter Chilvers. Rereleased last year by Burning Shed in a 2 cd edition. Great stuff!


To “trash”: you can subscribe to Burning Shed’s newsletter which I recommend highly, I got quite a few interesting items that way!


@Michel – thanks for the tip. I should do that as I have ordered a few things from them over the years (Karn, Jansen, XTC, Dolby…).


Ah No-Man…

Really loved their work.
Been less of a fan of Bowness’ work (much as I like his voice).
Might check this out though…

Thanks for the tip-off (not sure how I would have found out about it otherwise).


Yahoo… got the newsletter from Steve Wilson and also Burning Shed… SO… i’ve got me a (signed) white vinyl album.. ;-)


Thank you for ordering from Burning Shed
You have ordered these item(s):

Tim Bowness – Abandoned Dancehall Dreams (white vinyl preorder)