ZTT / The Art of the 12-inch, Volume Three / 2CD remix compilation


ZTT/Salvo will issue a third volume of their popular The Art of the 12″ compilation series in February 2014, almost exactly two years after the previous volume was issued.

Alongside Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) and The Organisation of Pop (London Edition), The Art of the 12″, Volume Three will help mark the 30th Anniversary of ZTT Records.

Like the previous set, this two-CD remix compilation contains reworkings of familiar ZTT material, alongside remixes of tracks by acts that have some loose connection to the label or the personnel within.

So inevitably, we get contributions from Frankie Goes To Hollywood (Rage Hard – Vocal/Remix), Art Of Noise (Close (To The Edit) Original Ruff Mix) and Propaganda (Complete Machinery), but alongside these tracks sit selections such as the Video Mix of Sigue Sigue Sputnik‘s Love Missile F1-11, Mad House – an instrumental dub version of Madness‘s Our House – and the 12″ version of The Belle StarsSign Of The Times.

The Art of the 12″, Volume Three will be released on 10 February 2014.

Track listing


  • 1. Star Cycle – a soundtrack from The Tube (Jeff Beck via Art of Noise)
  • 2. Love Missile F1-11 (Video Trailer Mix) (Sigue Sigue Sputnik)
  • 3. Love Missile F1-11 (Video Mix) (Sigue Sigue Sputnik)
  • 4. Snobbery & Decay (The Naked Civil…) (Act)
  • 5. Fabergé, take one (Art of Noise)
  • 6. Escape From New York (Video Mix) (Nasty Rox Inc.)
  • 7. Close (To The Edit) (Original Ruff Mix) (Art Of Noise)
  • 8. Leave It (Hello, Goodbye Mix) (Yes)
  • 9. Complete Machinery (Propaganda)
  • 10. Medea Terrorists (Living) (Das Psych-Oh! Rangers
  • 11. Fabergé, take two (Art of Noise)
  • 12. Language Problems (Extended Version) (Electric Guitars)
  • 13. Rage Hard (Vocal/Remix) (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
  • 14. Pop Muzik (Darkside/MM Devo Remix) (M)
  • 15. Network 7: opening titles (Steve Levine/Julian Lindsay)


  • 1. The Look of Love (Parts I, II, III & IV) (ABC)
  • 2. Sleepwalking (Movement Two) (Instinct
  • 3. Watching The Wildlife (Movement Two) (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
  • 4. Scottish Writer Of The Year (Pencil and Paper Mix) (Andrew Poppy)
  • 5. Mad House (Our House Instrumental Dub Version) (Madness)
  • 6. Sign Of The Times (Extended 12” Version) (Belle Stars)
  • 7. Docklands (12” Version) (Mint Juleps)
  • 8. Something Special (Inversion) (Stephen Duffy & Sandii)
  • 9. Jazz (Via Vagabond)
  • 10. The Word: opening titles (808 State)
  • 11. Moments In Love (Massey Mix Two) (808 State Vs.Art of Noise)
  • 12. Network 7 (12” Version) (Steve Levine/Julian Lindsay)
  • 13. A Friendly Warning (12” Version) (Act)
  • 14. The Tube:opening titles V.2 (Andrew Poppy)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments