The Doors / Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine / two-CD edition


Hot on the heels of the double orange vinyl Record Store Day limited edition comes the news that Rhino will give a full retail release to a two-CD version of The Doors classic 1972 compilation Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine.

This excellent collection boasts hits, less well known cuts and even a couple of B-sides. Rhino say that all the audio included in this reissue has been remastered by Bruce Botnick. We can presume that latest remasters available have been used for each track.

The great news is that this is a bargain, with the price at the time of writing just over £6.00 on Amazon UK.

Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine is released as a 2CD set on 19 May 2014.

 Track listing

Disc: 1

  • 1. Break On Through (To The Other Side)
  • 2. Strange Days ( Lp Version )
  • 3. Shaman’s Blues ( Lp Version )
  • 4. Love Street ( Lp Version )
  • 5. Peace Frog/Blue Sunday
  • 6. The Wasp ( Texas Radio And The Big Beat ) ( Lp Version )
  • 7. End Of The Night ( Lp Version )
  • 8. Love Her Madly ( Lp Version )
  • 9. Spanish Caravan ( Lp Version )
  • 10. Ship Of Fools ( Lp Version )
  • 11. The Spy ( Lp Version )
  • 12. The End ( Lp Version )

Disc: 2

  • 1. Take It As It Comes ( Lp Version )
  • 2. Runnin’ Blue ( Lp Version )
  • 3. L.A. Woman ( Lp Version )
  • 4. Five To One ( Lp Version )
  • 5. Who Scared You
  • 6. (You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further
  • 7. Riders On The Storm
  • 8. Maggie M’Gill ( Lp Version )
  • 9. Horse Latitudes ( Lp Version )
  • 10. When The Music’s Over ( Lp Version )

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I still have this on vinyl & one copy is still sealed. Sounds like it did when I first heard it in 1972. Very good sounding CD version.

Marc G.

“Weird Scenes…” has always been a nice comp(“You Need Meat…” aside). The mastering is nicely done and i got it from amazon.uk for £6.13. I enjoy this double CD and i guess i’ll keep my RSD coloured vinyl copy sealed as i already have the old 2LP from the 70s.


Original edits on it.


I’m still debating if I really need this since I already have the Acoustic Sounds hybrid/SACD box set.

[…] like The Doors‘ Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine, Rhino will release R.E.M.’s Unplugged: 1991-2001 The Complete Sessions on CD following […]

Mark Zutkoff

Will the original edits of these songs be used, or will the latest versions replace them? For example, will “The End” have the “Apocalypse Now” f-word section (which still sounds like a clumsy edit occurred at the end of it to get back into the slow portion)? Will “Break On Through” have “She get high”, or just “She get”? And will “Who Scared You” be the version with a verse cut out, or the entire song? To make this release worth owning, I would hope that the original edits appear, since the new versions are on the remasters over the last several years. I like the idea of both versions of such songs being available.